Power Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
Absolutely delicious, very soft and moist! They are a perfect camping/hiking snack. The only variations I made were I added a ripe banana to the bean and sugar mixture, I used pecans instead of walnuts, and I didn’t add coconut. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karebearfluff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lacombe, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
This would have 5 stars, but along with everyone else here, I added about a cup or more of liquid (vanilla soy milk) to the mix. Next time, I'll prob add a beaten egg white too. I also added mini dark chocolate chips, dried cherries, and chopped pecans instead of walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
Could the missing ingredient be eggs? After reading the reviews I added almond milk to moisten it but also added an egg to half the batch. The egg batch had a better texture and taste. I think next time I'll add some coconut oil too or maybe applesauce or prunes--it needs something to replace the lack of fat. A really good idea (adding the beans) and the dough is tasty--one good thing about egg free is the kids can eat it w/ no worries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
these were amazing. i only had red kidney beans and figured i'd give them a try. i put the beans and a 1/2 cup of plain soy milk in the food processor and added that mixture to the dry ingredients. i also added 1/2cup bittersweet chocolate chips instead of raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
No one could tell there were beans in these cookies, and when I told them they still didn't believe me!! I even got some adventurous children to eat these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
A very interesting cookie.Usually I will always do a first time recipe exact and then alter it to my liking, but after reading reviews and seeing the lack of moisture in the recipe I decided to add 1 cup of applesauce. I then added 1/2 cup chocolate(dark) chips less coconut, only the brown sugar and less dates. I like sneaking good things into my teenagers diets as all the want is pizza & Macdonalds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2005
Wow!! who ever thought beans in cookies could be so good. Like everyone else though, I did need to add soy milk. Next time I make them, I think I will try to replace the sugar with agave necter, sweet and it will add some necessary moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2005
I added 1/2 cup of soy milk (as the recipe was a little too dry), and increased the dates to 1 cup. I got 22 cookies out of the recipe. My husband loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
It obviously needed liquid. I added 2 cups soy milk and only 1/2 c. honey instead of sugar. More sugar was added due to the dried fruits I used. Sweet enough for me, I don't like to sweet. I also added more things like pumkin seeds, sesame and wheat germ istead of coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
I, too, had high hopes for this recipe since they are high protein, high fiber and fat free. But, I also think the liquid was omitted. The recipe "as is" creates a "granol looking" mix that I felt should be spread on a cookie sheet and baked then eaten as cereal! I ended up adding 1/4 cup orange juice and 1/4 cup melted butter so I could work with the dough. The resulting cookies were good, but, I hope the person who submitted it will correct the recipe as I wonder what they are really supposed to be like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States