Power Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
I was looking for a good gluten free cookie recipe and this one fit the bill. Although not usually one to change a recipe and then rate it, like others suggested it needed about a cup and a half of liquid (I opted for soy milk). I also pureed the beans and milk together and added a pinch of salt. You can pretty much change the dried fruit choices to your liking. The outcome was a moist, dense cookie. Will definitely keep this recipe. Next I will try dried cranberries, white choc chips, and macadamia nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I followed the advice of other reviewers and added 1/2 c. apple sauce, 1/2 c. almond milk, and 1/2 c. egg whites. Very moist and delicious. I think I'll add less sugar next time. They are pretty sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This is a great recipe for vegans, but I am also concerned with sugar, so I substituted the half cup each of white and brown sugar with a cup of chopped dates. In my Vitamix, I pureed the beans, the 1 cup chopped dates, and 1 cup of unsweetend applesauce. I made no other changes to the recipe. With no salt, sugar, or fat added, it came out great tasting and good for you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I tried these cookes and they were great. I followed suit and altered the recipe to ensure it was moist. Added apple sauce to beans. Wendell NC
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I've just had 3 and I think I could run a mile or two! Like everyone else I added liquid (water) but next time will try the applesauce. I used dried apricots instead of dates, as I prefer them, and they were really a good addition. Will make these again - my daughter does not like beans, but after eating one had no idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
These cookies are . . . interesting. That being said, they had a nice flavor and texture and were surprisingly moist. It is absolutely necessary to add some sort of extra liquid (I just used milk). The dough is just way too dry and crumbly without it. I also added chocolate chips and substituted mixed dried berries for the raisins. I think these cookies would be good to grab as you're running out the door on those mornings when you wake up late and don't have time for breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
I made these the first time just to see what a cookie with beans as the main ingredient would be like. We liked the first attempt well enough to make again with tweaking - have made 4 times now & here are my final tweaks: 2 tsp vanilla, 2 tsp cinnamon, 3/4 C raisins & 3/4 C applesauce. Without doubling the vanilla & cinnamon, cookies were just sweet with no flavor. The applesauce adds enough liquid to make the dough workable - 3/4 C raisins is just because we like raisins - I imagine many other dried fruits could probably be substituted. It's important to not mix the dough one second more than necessary as over mixing results in a tough, spongy cookie. I scoop the cookies out with a tablespoon & flatten them a bit once they're on a parchment lined cookie sheet. I usually get about 45 cookies & in my oven 15 minutes is the perfect time for baking. Great with coffee! These are not free food, however. I did a rough estimate of calories, carbs, protein & fiber & the calorie/carb to protein/fiber ratio, while better than an Oreo, is not in a dieter's favor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Yum!! I was skeptical about bean paste cookies, but these are fantastic! I altered the recipe after reading other reviews. 1. ground up the oats with the coconut (I like coconut flavor but not texture!), 2. added 3 teaspoons of ground flax seed, 3. added 1 cup apple sauce for moisture, and 4. used prunes instead of dates and dried cranberries and blueberries instead of raisins. These are amazing! I will make them again with mini chocolate chips as a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I added 1 cup rice milk and 1 egg, mixed it all well with my hands, spread it out in a large glass baking pan, baked for 25 minutes, and am now enjoying a piece. I love that these are high fiber, and they taste good, but it's true that it needs liquid/binder. Once you add liquid, you can make it as cookies or spread it out and cut it into "bars."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
This is a great base, but it needed a little something extra. I doubled the vanilla and cinnamon and added salt and eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Healthy Banana Cookies

These chewy bites are so tasty, the kids won't know they're sugar-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States