Power Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
these are fantastic (not as good as butter-based, of course), but i recommend letting them cool before "judging" them-- they're kinda bean-y otherwise...i used regular red kidneys bc that was all i had (maybe that made a difference?), added pecans and chocolate chips and left out dates and raisins. the "lack of liquid" problem lead to me adding about 1/2c milk (just added 'til it was a good consistency). i assembled it all in the food processor, then stirred in the choc and pecans. nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by etroskipay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellydancer
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
These taste like a healthy cookie, but in no way like a 'normal' cookie. I added 2/3 c. applesauce and one egg to the cookie dough to make them more cookie dough consistency. I added 2/3 c. mini chocolate chips with the fruit in the end. You have to squish the cookie down after scooping onto cookie sheet, as they do not melt down or spread at all. I found that cooking them about 11 mins. was perfect in my oven, otherwise they were too dry. I only let them sit on the pan for a couple of minutes rather than the five mins. I loved eating the raw cookie dough, it was delicious! I may or may not make these again, depends if I can get the family to eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Concerned about dullness from the beans, I added an extra teaspoon of cinnamon and used dried cherries for the tartness. No avail. I wouldn't use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
I thought these cookies were easy to make, really healthy and did not taste beany in any way. The only changes I made were to add a tablespoon of molasses, a tablespoon of honey and I substituted craisins for the raisins. I got 3 dozen medium sized cookies from the recipe. I will definitely be making this recipe again since I'm always on the hunt for wheat-free cookie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
I was looking for a high protein/fiber cookie to eat after dinner to help me avoid snacking. After reading the reviews, I added 3 egg whites and 1/2 cup milk and didn't add nuts. I had to bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes for the cookies to be brown. Still very tasty and moist inside. I am storing in cookie tins with waxed paper while still warm to keep them moist. Yield: 30 cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
While I really liked the flavor of this cookie, not to mention the healthiness, I must say following the recipe as is gave me granola, not cookies. But it was delicious granola!! I agree that it needs moisture to give it a better consistency. I added two egg whites to help the cookies stay together and 1/4 cup soy milk for moisture. I absolutely LOVED them with the egg whites and milk! With alterations, these are definitely 5 star cookies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Not sure I liked these cookies. I could taste the beans (maybe just because I knew they were there?). When I mashed them up some of the skins were left behind and I could see those as well. I added 1 snack size cup of natural applesauce. They were edible. Some of the bites were good, in fact. As long as I didn't taste the bean. Maybe next time I need to puree them up more. Not sure I will make them again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
What a great idea! I didn't have dates or coconut, so I just used a banana, molasses, raisins and nuts and added cloves. Even without the coconut and dates, these cookies came out pretty tasty...for a healthy cookie. I was suprised. They do the trick without the guilt. My one year old loves these and its something that I dont feel hesitant about giving him. I think I will be doing alot of experimenting with this recipe. thanx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I too can not believe that this recipe received 5 stars!! In no way do the mashed up beans produce enough liquid for the rest of the ingredients. I don't understand how someone can give a recipe 5 stars if they have had to modify it in order for it to work. The result of this "cookie" recipe produces a VERY dry granola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgend, Glamorgan, Wales, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2007
These cookies tasted fantastic and healthy, but like everyone else, I had to add about 1 1/2 cups of liquid just to bring the dough to the proper consistency. I used 1/2 cup each of applesauce, egg beaters, and skim milk. I also used dried pineapple instead of dates and added 1/2 cup of chocolate chips and 1 tsp almond extract...yummm! I eat these every day before my workout to give me some energy to burn! They're also great for breakfast when I'm in a hurry. Thanks so much for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

No-Bake Cookies III

See how to make these peanut butter cocoa-flavored cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States