Power Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2013
I have tried this recipe several times, love it but trying to find a way to cut the sugar and corn syrup and still make it taste just as good as the original recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
My tweaking: didn't have corn syrup and really didn't want to use it anyway, so I substituted 1 cup of best quality honey, 1/2 cup of white sugar and 1/4 cup of sugar/splenda blend. Into the cereal mix I threw some milk chocolate morsels. Taste results: really, really sweet and I can taste the wildflower honey. Texture: they were sticky so I put them in the freezer to cut, but once frozen they didn't cut cleanly into bars but broke into pieces. Am wondering if my substitution of honey for corn syrup, and cutting back the white sugar by 1/4 cup, affected the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This is a very versatile recipe. I have played with the contents list including replacing the corn syrup with honey, or adding bakers chocolate to give it a chocolate flavoring, trying different combinations of cereals and such. This is a great in-between meals snack, and I use it at work since it doesn't need to be refrigerated! Great for a locker! Just put a few bars in a plastic container and you can snack on these instead of buying a cookie or other junk food snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I tried to be careful not to overcook but it was pretty hard to work with. Barely got it stirred and out of the bowl. Tastes good. Next time I might try regular peanut butter or roll it in balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
These are so good, however I reduce the amount of karo syrup and use mostly honey in its place. I also used turbinado (raw) sugar instead, and used half oats and half grapenuts. I sprinkled the top with chocolate chips. This is a filling and delicious snack bar, and so easy to make--better than power bars. I love this recipe. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
Very good- very "peanutty"- To reduce calories, I used Splenda sugar blend (1/2 cup), reduced corn syrup by half and added 1/2 cup honey (next time I will try agave syrup since it is better for you than all of that). Added 1/2 cup wheat germ and next time I will try to add in some protein powder and powdered milk (to increase calcium). I will also try dried cherries. Overall my 9 and 5 year olds chowed them down as did my hubby so I like this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2010
Too sweet. Serious crash after 2 hours. Should have enough honey (NOT corn syrup) to hold together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by atasteofcreole

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by copetenn
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
excellent. Best of all, they provide a noticeable, tangible energy boost--much more noticeable than the power bars bought in a store. As can tell in submitted photo, put chocolate chips on top of a portion of the batch. Also sprinkled entire batch lightly with ground cinnamon after taking out of oven. Keeper, for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by copetenn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Coppell, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
Nice flavor. Very "nougaty" when you add nuts and things to it. At first I thought this was "goopy" and waay to sticky, but after it cooled completely and I individually wrapped each bar in saran-wrap, I stuck it in the refrigerator... perfect. Not to hard not to soft. Make sure the bars are thin enough to bite easily! And spread that goop on wax paper sprayed with pam for easy handling and clean-up. Thanks for the recipe. And thank you reviewers for all the fun suggestions for add-ins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by crazy9irl
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
YUMMMMMM These really are a good bar!! I have tried a few from this site and I like this one for it's crunchyness.. These are the changes that I made to it and they turned out FABULOUS! I used Splenda Sugar instead of Regular Sugar, 1/2 Cup Corn Syrup and 1/2 Cup Honey, The PB Stayed the same, 3 Cups Grapenuts and 3/4 Cup Chopped Dry Roasted Peanuts, and 1/4 Cup Dried Sun Maid Tropical Trio fruit! Even the hubby Loved them. Great Recipe and thanks for Sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crazy9irl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Nanaimo Bars III

See how to make deliciously decadent no-bake treats.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States