Powdered Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
These are sooooo good! Crispy around the edges, but nice & tender inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
My mother used pretty much the same recipe while I was growing up. I love these cookies! They have the best light, tender texture. I often use almond extract instead of vanilla, and my Mom sometimes uses lemon extract. We also decorate them with red and green sugar for Christmas, or frost them and decorate like wreaths. Everyone needs to try this recipe - they're the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Absolutely the best and easiest sugar I've ever made. Everyone who tasted them, wanted the recipe! They really do melt in your mouth. We made them for Christmas gifts, so we mixed the confectioners sugar with red or green sprinkles. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
One of my favorite cookies! So tender and crisp. Don't overcook them! Before baking, I usually press the balls flat with a glass dipped in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
First of all...I made one single change. I used Crisco shortening instead of oil. These cookies are amazing. When it says they melt in your mouth - they truly do. I chose this recipe from the many sugar cookie recipes because of the two ingredients that differ from the other sugar cookies - powdered sugar & cream of tartar. Those two ingredients act as tenderizers in a way and the result is a light, crunchy melt in your mouth cookie. So delicious. I used my metal ice cream scoop (that has the little release bar in it)and I simply scooped the dough onto the cookie sheet - then I sprinkled some colored sugar on top (didn't flatten them) and baked them. Sooo good! I had a recipe like this years ago and I lost it so I'm very glad to have found this one! One thing I should add though - these are not the kind of sugar cookies that would be good to roll out & cut with fancy cutters. The dough does not hold it's shape well enough for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
this is the recipe that my grandmother made except she omitted the salt. she also increased the flour by 1/2 cup. Best cookie ever in my opinion!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
yum. so good. perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Extremely Easy & Very tasty! Melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISFROGTEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Thank you so much for this recipe! I had a little norwegian great-aunt that would make a recipe very similiar to this all of the time. Everytime we visited her, she always had a plate of these sugar cookies and "orange juice" (Tang) waiting for us. I miss her so much, and it's great to be able to continue making the same cookies she used to make. There's only a few slight changes to the recipe. Instead of 4 cups of flour, her recipe calls for 4 1/2. Also, it asks to chill the dough for 2 hours. And finally, she always used a cookie stamp with her cookies- she'd roll them into a ball, dip them into sugar, and flatten into a thin cookie using her cookie stamp dipped in sugar. The bottom of a glass with a 'design' on it would work fine, too. This results in a nice, crisp, "melt in your mouth" cookie. Thanks again so much for the recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Yum! So good and so easy and my kids LOVED them. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States