Powdered Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
First of all...I made one single change. I used Crisco shortening instead of oil. These cookies are amazing. When it says they melt in your mouth - they truly do. I chose this recipe from the many sugar cookie recipes because of the two ingredients that differ from the other sugar cookies - powdered sugar & cream of tartar. Those two ingredients act as tenderizers in a way and the result is a light, crunchy melt in your mouth cookie. So delicious. I used my metal ice cream scoop (that has the little release bar in it)and I simply scooped the dough onto the cookie sheet - then I sprinkled some colored sugar on top (didn't flatten them) and baked them. Sooo good! I had a recipe like this years ago and I lost it so I'm very glad to have found this one! One thing I should add though - these are not the kind of sugar cookies that would be good to roll out & cut with fancy cutters. The dough does not hold it's shape well enough for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
These are the best light, crisp, sugary, sugar cookies! I make these and sell them at work, and people love them! My husband loves them too! this is a wonderful cookie recipe. It makes a lot of cookies. Make sure you use real butter and not margarine, and it definitely helps to refridgerate the dough over night. Also, it works well when you roll the dough into balls, roll in sugar, and then make them flat with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar. Also, they look nice when you sprinkle on a little colored sugar to add some color. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2002
My mother used pretty much the same recipe while I was growing up. I love these cookies! They have the best light, tender texture. I often use almond extract instead of vanilla, and my Mom sometimes uses lemon extract. We also decorate them with red and green sugar for Christmas, or frost them and decorate like wreaths. Everyone needs to try this recipe - they're the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
One of my favorite cookies! So tender and crisp. Don't overcook them! Before baking, I usually press the balls flat with a glass dipped in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
These are DELICIOUS. I also subbed the oil for an equal amount of butter flavored Crisco and rolled the dough into little balls, rolled in sugar, flattened w/a glass and sprinkled more sugar. They are SO light and DO melt in your mouth, this will be my sugar cookie recipe from now on. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
These make the best Christmas cookies! My Great-Grandma had a similar recipe. Our tradition is to roll teaspoon size dough in sugar and cinnamon and stamp the cookies with the bottom of a slightly floured crystal glass before putting them in the oven. They look like snowflakes and mom uses Great Grandma's crystal glass every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
By far the best sugar cookie ever. Added a little extra flour and cooked for about ten minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wylie, Texas, USA
Living In: Potomac Falls, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
Absolutely the best and easiest sugar I've ever made. Everyone who tasted them, wanted the recipe! They really do melt in your mouth. We made them for Christmas gifts, so we mixed the confectioners sugar with red or green sprinkles. They were a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I've been looking for a recipe similar to Danish Wedding Cookies. You know..the round, crunchy ones rolled in powdered sugar. These were not it!! I'm not sure why I made these..I guess the name powdered sugar caught my eye. Just another sugar cookie. I did like the taste and they came out light in texture. I thought the recipe called for a bit too much oil and butter, but I did use the exact amount. I added 2 cups of whole wheat flour in place of the regular..to try and add 1 healthy ingredient. I'll definitley keep searching for my danish wedding cookies. Thanks for sharing Alicia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
These made great Christmas cookies. Very easy to make and made loads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States