Powdered Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Cassandra B.
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Well, after watching a show about cookies on tv, me and my fiance both wanted cookies (I'd like to blame it on being pregnant). Since I didn't have oatmeal or chocolate chips or anything like that, I figured sugar cookies would work. I looked at a bunch of different recipes before choosing these. My fiance thinks they are pretty good. I, on the other hand, won't eat them. They had a weird taste to me... but then again, I am pregnant and everything tastes a little different (be it for the better or worse). I halved the recipe and got 3 dozen exactly. It says to flatten them, but when I did that for the first dozen, they spread out on their own even more... making super-flat semi-crumbly cookies. after that I rolled them into balls and rolled the balls in sugar... worked much better! I won't make these again, just because of the very strange after taste, but my fiance says "yeah.. they taste like any other sugar cookie.. they are average" hence, the 3 star- average rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I made these cookies recently for the kids school parties and my husband's work and everyone raved over these cookies. I flavored 1/2 of the batch with vanilla and the other half with almond extract and they were both wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaGurlie73

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
The dough was VERY hard to work with. It was too soft. I put it in the fridge over night and that mad eit easier, but still not much flavor. Probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
These are DELICIOUS. I also subbed the oil for an equal amount of butter flavored Crisco and rolled the dough into little balls, rolled in sugar, flattened w/a glass and sprinkled more sugar. They are SO light and DO melt in your mouth, this will be my sugar cookie recipe from now on. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
WOW this is the best sugar cookie I have ever ate, my husband says this is his kind of cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
These are the best light, crisp, sugary, sugar cookies! I make these and sell them at work, and people love them! My husband loves them too! this is a wonderful cookie recipe. It makes a lot of cookies. Make sure you use real butter and not margarine, and it definitely helps to refridgerate the dough over night. Also, it works well when you roll the dough into balls, roll in sugar, and then make them flat with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar. Also, they look nice when you sprinkle on a little colored sugar to add some color. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Yummy! I made these for the kids at church for Valentine's Day and they were gobbled up in seconds! The pastor raved about how they melt in your mouth. I used Crisco instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
they were good, but didn't turn out like I expected. Make sure to spread the dough out when baking them. I ended up making one huge cookie b/c it all ran together. my guests loved them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Ok, I used crisco instead of oil, and almond extract instead of vanilla, and I LOVE these cookies! They are soft and do just melt in your mouth. This is now on my short list of favorite cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Yum! So good and so easy and my kids LOVED them. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States