Powdered Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
These cookies are great! They are soft but with a crunchy edge and just sweet enough. I had to add a touch more flour to get the perfect cookie. I did not use shortening like so many people did and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
These make the best Christmas cookies! My Great-Grandma had a similar recipe. Our tradition is to roll teaspoon size dough in sugar and cinnamon and stamp the cookies with the bottom of a slightly floured crystal glass before putting them in the oven. They look like snowflakes and mom uses Great Grandma's crystal glass every Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Plata, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I actually only had whole wheat flour in the house so I used that and added a little more than a tablespoon of baking powder to the mix. Then I spiced up the cookies with some cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg. If you use professional baking pans with the tiny holes at the bottom and the other pan that fits underneath that to buffer the heat on the bottom, the cookies come out perfectly round like store-bought cookies. Either way you back my version...WOWWIE! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Moskal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Glen Ellyn, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Intereting for a sugar cookie. Almost like a shortbread. Dough was too soft to roll into balls so i just dropped with a spoon then sprnkled with sugar. I am not sure if I will make again. Nice flavor and texture though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jowolf2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lillooet, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2007
I like to add a little almond extract for flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2007
My boyfriend and I couldn't get enough of these. They really do melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2007
these cookies had the texture of a sponge. i think 1 cup of butter is too much . i may try to alter it and try agin. one thing you can count on is they won't crumble in your milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
Made some healthy changes. I substituted about 1/3 cup whole wheat flour and 1/3 cup plain yogurt for some of the oil. Could not tell any difference. Delicious, soft on inside with a slight crunch for the outside. I also used almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cassandra B.
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Well, after watching a show about cookies on tv, me and my fiance both wanted cookies (I'd like to blame it on being pregnant). Since I didn't have oatmeal or chocolate chips or anything like that, I figured sugar cookies would work. I looked at a bunch of different recipes before choosing these. My fiance thinks they are pretty good. I, on the other hand, won't eat them. They had a weird taste to me... but then again, I am pregnant and everything tastes a little different (be it for the better or worse). I halved the recipe and got 3 dozen exactly. It says to flatten them, but when I did that for the first dozen, they spread out on their own even more... making super-flat semi-crumbly cookies. after that I rolled them into balls and rolled the balls in sugar... worked much better! I won't make these again, just because of the very strange after taste, but my fiance says "yeah.. they taste like any other sugar cookie.. they are average" hence, the 3 star- average rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassandra B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I made these cookies recently for the kids school parties and my husband's work and everyone raved over these cookies. I flavored 1/2 of the batch with vanilla and the other half with almond extract and they were both wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaGurlie73

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States