Powdered Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
I cut the oil in half, and I'm glad I did because the cookies baked up perfectly buttery without the extra oil. I also subbed the cream of tartar for lemon juice (what I had on hand) and doubled the vanilla. Rolled into balls and baked for 10 minutes, then frosted with homemade buttercream frosting. Yum! UPDATE: I made these again tonight (again cutting the oil in half), but with a twist; I added 4 tsp of coconut extract and rolled the balls in coconut before baking. Also yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KBots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
These cookies are pretty good but I had to make it with 2 tsp. vanilla and 2 tsp. almond extract to get a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
This is an OUTSTANDING cookie; however, I had trouble with the recipe. Fortunately, I substituted butter flavored Crisco for the vegetable oil because I would not have wanted the dough any moister. I didn't have cream of tartar, so I used 2 teaspoons of lemon juice. (common substitution) The recipe states to make the dough into balls but doesn't say the size. I rolled them the size of jawbreakers then flatened them so the center would get done faster. It state 8 minutes cooking time but took me 10 minutes, so perhaps they were too big. I'm not sure because I got over 80 cookies and it says 48 servings. No where in the directions does it tell you to add the vanilla. Fortunately I caught that error as I was ready to roll the dough into balls. Also, it's easier to work with the dough if it's cold, so I put it in the freezer for about 15 minutes. Because of the problems in the directions, I would normally take off a star but this was so much easier to make than the rolled cookie recipe I had been using, and they taste almost identical. This is a 5 star cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
These were very good. I did not coat them in sugar, but they still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These are the perfect sugar cookie for my family! Crispy, soft and light at the same time. My husbands new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Easy to make, great taste. Very delicate. I used butter flavored shortening instead of oil. Increased flavorings to 2 teaspoons of vanilla and 1 teaspoon of almond extract. I think they would have been bland without the extra flavors. I did not add the extra sugar because I plan to decorate with icing but I think they taste great without the extra sugar. Used ice cream scoop to make 20 large cookies and baked for 17 minutes. Very pleased with result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nonavr66

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
OMG These are awesome! My sister has always made the best sugar cookies which tasted like these but I could never master her recipe. THANK YOU THANK YOU! I also did use Crisco instead of oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debi in st paul

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
So delightfully light and melt-in-your-mouth good. Many thanks for this! I had to halve the butter yesterday and they still turned out great! This is in my permanent recipe collection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly Ann Pete

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I don't know what I did wrong, if anything. I've been baking cookies forever, but these had an odd taste. I'm pretty sure it's the oil. I used Wesson and after the first couple of batches, I even checked the date of my oil, which was fine. The dough was extremely soft. I was making cookies for a friend who is terribly ill and her family is staying with her. They requested sugar cookies this time so thought I'd give this one a try after reading the reviews. Not sure what to do with them now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FrackFamily5
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
These are very good. I made them rolled in sugar and without and prefer the unsugared kind. I did make some reductions of ingredients; I only used about 1/3 cup of oil and then added about 2 tbls to the mixer in the last couple minutes of mixing. I also only used one egg. I thought with all the butter there shouldn't have been the need for all that oil. The cookies tasted very, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrackFamily5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Catasauqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Corona, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States