Powdered Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2012
This is a very good recipe for sugar cookies. I was on the quest for the best, and although I found it elsewhere, these are delicious and easy to make. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
I did not like these. The dough was super sticky--this is not a recipe for cookie cutters. I think the oil was what threw off the consistency of the dough. I had to add like another 1/4 cup of flour because my cookies were spreading way too much. Otherwise, this was an okay recipe. They did taste rather bland, so definitely roll in sugar. But they were edible, so it does deserve some credit. The texture of the cookie was kind of crispy, but I'm into thick, soft, chewy cookies. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Tasted good for Sugar Cookies. Followed the recipe, but had to add about 1 1/4 cup more flour and roll in powdered sugar while we used the cookie cutters. Not the recipe I would recommend for using the cookie cutters unless you only use the round/cup cutter. These cookies also, spread so make sure you give them plenty of room. Baking time was a min. of 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
Superduper yummy!! I half the recipe because there's only 3 of us and bake for 10 mins and they come out chewy and perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Soto

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These are perfect as is! No need to roll out into shapes or use frosting. I followed the recipe exactly, just needed to keep them in my oven for a couple of extra minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
These were fantastic! Soft inside and crispy outside. I rolled a few in cinnamon and sugar to make snickerdoodles. This will definitely be my new sugar/snickerdoodle recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
I have been making these cookies for many, many years and now my grand daughters ask for them, too! This is probably our family's #1 favorite cookie! I find it is easier to work when you chill the dough for at least an hour or longer. These cookies are very light, flaky and fragile, not like the rolled sugar cookies! They literally melt in your mouth!! I know it sounds like a lot of oil and butter but the recipe is correct! I recommend using 2 tsp. of vanilla though and remember to chill the dough. Also, I prefer to bake them closer to 10 or 11 minutes just until the edges begin to brown lightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEREDITHRS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
This was my first time making homemade cookies. The recipe was easy and my daughter and I really enjoyed the time we spent making them. I did make two changes. One was that we did 1 cup of shortening instead of veggie oil. The second was that I didn't have any baking soda so I had to substitute the 1 tsp of baking soda with 3 tsp of baking powder. For those of us who don't cook all the time, that's the correct substitution for baking soda with baking powder. The cookies were still delicious. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lovestory
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
LOVE these. i have made these for about 3 yrs. I always make the dough the nite before, and roll and cut them the next day. They roll perfectly! I put powder sugar on the counter instead of flour. Do not ccok to long.. 8min. is good. i have also made this receipe with all powder sugar..just as yummy, even a little lighter !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I made these today and they turned out beautifully! I did substitute butter-flavored Crisco for the oil and slightly flattened the cookies with a glass before baking. 8 minutes at 350° was perfect - chewy and delicious with light golden bottoms. I always follow Betty Crocker's advice and let the cookies cool on the sheet for two minutes before transferring them to a cooling rack. "I don't even like sugar cookies but these are the best cookies I've ever had in my whole life!" - My 9 year-old nephew, Logan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States