Powdered Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
First of all...I made one single change. I used Crisco shortening instead of oil. These cookies are amazing. When it says they melt in your mouth - they truly do. I chose this recipe from the many sugar cookie recipes because of the two ingredients that differ from the other sugar cookies - powdered sugar & cream of tartar. Those two ingredients act as tenderizers in a way and the result is a light, crunchy melt in your mouth cookie. So delicious. I used my metal ice cream scoop (that has the little release bar in it)and I simply scooped the dough onto the cookie sheet - then I sprinkled some colored sugar on top (didn't flatten them) and baked them. Sooo good! I had a recipe like this years ago and I lost it so I'm very glad to have found this one! One thing I should add though - these are not the kind of sugar cookies that would be good to roll out & cut with fancy cutters. The dough does not hold it's shape well enough for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
116 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Thank you so much for this recipe! I had a little norwegian great-aunt that would make a recipe very similiar to this all of the time. Everytime we visited her, she always had a plate of these sugar cookies and "orange juice" (Tang) waiting for us. I miss her so much, and it's great to be able to continue making the same cookies she used to make. There's only a few slight changes to the recipe. Instead of 4 cups of flour, her recipe calls for 4 1/2. Also, it asks to chill the dough for 2 hours. And finally, she always used a cookie stamp with her cookies- she'd roll them into a ball, dip them into sugar, and flatten into a thin cookie using her cookie stamp dipped in sugar. The bottom of a glass with a 'design' on it would work fine, too. This results in a nice, crisp, "melt in your mouth" cookie. Thanks again so much for the recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Made it with a little less oil. But I think that it needs the full amount. Other than that I made them exactly how they said and they turned out great! 8 minutes was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
These are sooooo good! Crispy around the edges, but nice & tender inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2005
One of my favorite cookies! So tender and crisp. Don't overcook them! Before baking, I usually press the balls flat with a glass dipped in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2005
Extremely Easy & Very tasty! Melts in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISFROGTEN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
yum. so good. perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
this is the recipe that my grandmother made except she omitted the salt. she also increased the flour by 1/2 cup. Best cookie ever in my opinion!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2004
I put everything in a bowl as stated and one thing i fould wrong with this recipe, it was to runnie to roll in sugar. My place is really cool so heat didn't have anything to do with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I've been looking for a recipe similar to Danish Wedding Cookies. You know..the round, crunchy ones rolled in powdered sugar. These were not it!! I'm not sure why I made these..I guess the name powdered sugar caught my eye. Just another sugar cookie. I did like the taste and they came out light in texture. I thought the recipe called for a bit too much oil and butter, but I did use the exact amount. I added 2 cups of whole wheat flour in place of the regular..to try and add 1 healthy ingredient. I'll definitley keep searching for my danish wedding cookies. Thanks for sharing Alicia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States