Powdered Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
The dough was VERY hard to work with. It was too soft. I put it in the fridge over night and that mad eit easier, but still not much flavor. Probably won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
These are DELICIOUS. I also subbed the oil for an equal amount of butter flavored Crisco and rolled the dough into little balls, rolled in sugar, flattened w/a glass and sprinkled more sugar. They are SO light and DO melt in your mouth, this will be my sugar cookie recipe from now on. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
WOW this is the best sugar cookie I have ever ate, my husband says this is his kind of cookie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2007
These are the best light, crisp, sugary, sugar cookies! I make these and sell them at work, and people love them! My husband loves them too! this is a wonderful cookie recipe. It makes a lot of cookies. Make sure you use real butter and not margarine, and it definitely helps to refridgerate the dough over night. Also, it works well when you roll the dough into balls, roll in sugar, and then make them flat with the bottom of a glass dipped in sugar. Also, they look nice when you sprinkle on a little colored sugar to add some color. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
Yummy! I made these for the kids at church for Valentine's Day and they were gobbled up in seconds! The pastor raved about how they melt in your mouth. I used Crisco instead of oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
they were good, but didn't turn out like I expected. Make sure to spread the dough out when baking them. I ended up making one huge cookie b/c it all ran together. my guests loved them though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen O'Brien
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2007
Ok, I used crisco instead of oil, and almond extract instead of vanilla, and I LOVE these cookies! They are soft and do just melt in your mouth. This is now on my short list of favorite cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2007
Yum! So good and so easy and my kids LOVED them. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2006
First of all...I made one single change. I used Crisco shortening instead of oil. These cookies are amazing. When it says they melt in your mouth - they truly do. I chose this recipe from the many sugar cookie recipes because of the two ingredients that differ from the other sugar cookies - powdered sugar & cream of tartar. Those two ingredients act as tenderizers in a way and the result is a light, crunchy melt in your mouth cookie. So delicious. I used my metal ice cream scoop (that has the little release bar in it)and I simply scooped the dough onto the cookie sheet - then I sprinkled some colored sugar on top (didn't flatten them) and baked them. Sooo good! I had a recipe like this years ago and I lost it so I'm very glad to have found this one! One thing I should add though - these are not the kind of sugar cookies that would be good to roll out & cut with fancy cutters. The dough does not hold it's shape well enough for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
115 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nilla

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
Thank you so much for this recipe! I had a little norwegian great-aunt that would make a recipe very similiar to this all of the time. Everytime we visited her, she always had a plate of these sugar cookies and "orange juice" (Tang) waiting for us. I miss her so much, and it's great to be able to continue making the same cookies she used to make. There's only a few slight changes to the recipe. Instead of 4 cups of flour, her recipe calls for 4 1/2. Also, it asks to chill the dough for 2 hours. And finally, she always used a cookie stamp with her cookies- she'd roll them into a ball, dip them into sugar, and flatten into a thin cookie using her cookie stamp dipped in sugar. The bottom of a glass with a 'design' on it would work fine, too. This results in a nice, crisp, "melt in your mouth" cookie. Thanks again so much for the recipe! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States