Powdered Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I used a Magic Bullet and did batches of 1 cup each. It took about a minute per batch and the consistency and taste is exactly that of store-bought confectioner's sugar. Absolutely brilliant - will use every time from now on! PS - Someone below asked why there is cornstarch in it. It is because that is how confectioner's sugar is made and it will affect the outcome/consistency of your icing, etc. if you leave out the cornstarch. It is a necessary ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaNuchols

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This saved my day! I did it in small batches in my blender as suggested by others and it came out perfect! I may never by Pwderd sugar again, this was so easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rathdrum, Idaho, USA
Living In: Ramona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Used 1 cup of white sugar & 2 Tbsp. Potato Starch in a coffee grinder & was done in less than 30 seconds. Have used it many times. I cant have corn so I use the potato starch, thats what powdered sugar was originally made with anyways. Turns out perfect every time, makes great icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
Yes you can make your own powdered sugar! I find it's easier to do in smaller batches in a smaller cup. I'm not sure why there is cornstarch added to this, though, it's not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I ran out of powder sugar, so I thought this is a good time to try this out. Well I am 30 min into this and I am not even close. I don't know of I should give up or continue just to see what happens. My machine and the sugar are both hot so for now its just going to sit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennH
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Worked perfectly! I won't be buying powdered sugar again as this is too simple! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Use a blender in small batches and will have much better results than a food processor. Almost undistinguishable from storebought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HOGGWILD89

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Great! I made it in tiny batches in my coffee grinder, because its all i have... Great recipe, very accurate... Now to make some buckeyes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunbury, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used a food processor and followed the instructions exactly.. I processed each small batch for about 5 minutes. It was almost like powdered sugar, but not quite. Then I tried to use it in frosting and it resulted in gritty butter that I had to throw away. I'll be sticking to store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
Works in the magic bullet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

How to Measure Brown Sugar

See the simple trick to measuring brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States