Pound Cake with Rum Topping Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
This was a great and simple recipe. I did not have a bundt pan or pound cake loaf pan, but I was able to make this into a single-layer cake using a 9x13 pyrex pan lined with foil. The rum sauce was awesome and everyone commented on how moist the cake was. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
This recipe is out-of-this-world. I made it in indivdual mini-bundts to give as gifts. It made 12 mini cakes that are so wonderfully moist and delicious that I am confident they will be a hit with all who receive them. This recipe is a real keeper and thanks Jessica for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
This is a very moist and tasty pound cake. I added four tablespoons of rum instead of five and it was still very tasty. I served it with a scoop of peppermint ice cream and got WOW'S from everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARLENE718

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
This is probably the best made-from-scratch rum cake I have found. Much lighter than some and very, very moist. Am sure the omission of salt in recipe is just a mistake and common sense has to prevail. Because we like rum I did substitute 1/4 of the water for rum but, again, that is a taste preference. Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Really good recipe! Cake was absolutely delicious, moist, and spongy, and is even better with the little moist layer the booze-sugar liquid provides. I used amaretto for the soaking ingredient. It only sank down about 1 cm though, although company came and had to serve it quickly. I also used ~1.5 tsp "vanilla sugar" instead of extract, bceause they don't have vanilla extract where i live.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by djo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampere, Pirkanmaa, Finland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Very easy to make - a beautifully moist cake - loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
This is the best cake recipe ever! I've been using it since 2010 and it's a big hit whenever I make it! It's so moist and spongy. I don't change a thing on this recipe! The best thing to do is let the rum sink in overnight before flipping it. It gives it an even better taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
Um...this was awesome. Seriously awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
Very quick, very easy. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CNCETD
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This cake was quite good. I only used 3 tablespoons of rum and thought that was plenty. I would suggest poking holes in the cake with a knife in order for the rum topping to seem down into the middle of the cake. I poured the topping over the cake and it most of the rum flavor was only around the outside edges of the cake. By making small slits in the cake with a butter knife, the rum flavor would be able to penetrate the middle of the cake as well as the sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States