Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Good. I added 1-2 tsp almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Based on the reviews, I adjusted the amount of sugar to 2.25 cups and I used brown sugar. Came out really good. Would make it again and maybe add some flavoring. Great around-the-house-during-the-week-something-to-satisfy-my-sweet-tooth cake! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is the best pound cake I've ever made!! It was moist, delicious, and just perfect. Did I already say it was delicious? This will be my number one pound cake recipe. I think the balance of butter and butter flavored Crisco is the reason why this cake was so..... moist. I used Vanilla Butternut flavoring instead of vanilla as I think it has a better flavor than regular vanilla flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Amazing cake , like the others I creamed the butter and sugar for almost 25 minutes , Next time I will reduce to the sugar , it was too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made this recipe into cupcakes (I stopped at 24 and threw the rest of the batter away). WAY TOO MUCH SUGAR. The bottom of my cupcake papers were VERY oily. The tops of the cupcakes were crunchy and flat. The insides were a beautiful light and fluffy texture. Not sure if baking as cupcakes instead of a cake made a difference, but I am not going to try again to find out. EDIT--9/23/14--Had to come back and change my rating. Tasted these again last night and this morning and what a difference in the taste! Still just a little too sweet, so will cut back a LITTLE on the sugar. The tops of my cupcakes have turned out to be my favorite part--not crunchy now, kind of a chewy texture (not sure how to describe). I did not put any frosting on them. Just wish they weren't flat. Might be something I did. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I cut down the sugar to one cup..... taste much better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Great recipe for the classic pound cake. Dense, tender, fine crumb; deliciously adorned with nothing more than sweet vanilla flavor. Well-written, accurate directions. I scaled the recipe down to six servings which yielded 12 cupcakes that I baked at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Was very good and lighter than usual pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2014
It came out nice and fluffy. Modified the serving size to 6 as I only had two eggs, baked in a loaf pan and it was ready in 40 minutes. I also followed CARTHECOOK suggestions. I only used butter and next time I'll reduce the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2014
Wow tried this recipe last night and it is awesome!!! followed everythig to the letter. my Daughter was sitting at the table when i cut this cake and i gave her a small piece she was looking at me like can i have another piece very moist and tasty cake!!!oh and i drizzled lemon icing on top very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States