Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
So far this is the best pound cake I have ever eaten or made. I did make some minor changes, first of all I creamed the butter, shortening, and sugar for 25 mins, it was so light and fluffy( that is the secert to a great cake base).Then I added 1 egg at a time and beat for 30 seconds apeice. I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of vanilla extract and 1 teaspoon of lemon extract.I also added 1 tablespoon of corn starch for each cup of flour (the cornstarch turns the all-purpose flour into cake flour). Last but not least I made some sour milk by adding 1 tablespoon of vinger and 1/4 teaspoon of vinger to the milk and let it turn while I was creaming the first 3 ingredients ( sour milk is just homemade buttermilk) Also start and end with the dry ingredients. Do not over beat when you start adding the dry ingredients or the cake will be tough. I baked the cake at 325 dregrees for 90 mins, but start checking after 60 mins. The last 20 mins I tented the cake with foil shinny side up away from the cake. Ummmmm, ummmm, good this cake was not dense at all it was so light, best pound cake to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
408 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Cove, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
Excellent pound cake which will be perfect for the wedding cake I'm about to make ! I used all butter instead of butter and shortening and reduced the milk by about 40ml since butter has 15% water compared to shortening. Also reduced sugar to 2 1/4 cups. As with other reviewers, had to cover the cake at about 40 min. since the crust was already browned and only cooked it for just over an hour. Very moist, soft, fine crumb cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
139 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bella R.
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
I loved this cake! Okay, let me start off by saying that I NEVER bake! I learned some things from my mother when i was younger, but that's about it. This recipe was sooooo easy to follow!! I was trying to re-create a birthday cake recipe that is a childhood memory. I knew the old recipe was a pound cake, and I was hoping with all the great reviews this cake would live up. It did! I frosted it with the "Special Buttercream" recipe from this site and it was amazing! I made a Barbie doll cake with the wilton wonder mold. Let's talk about the cake though: baked in 90 minutes, came out with a golden crust that was perfect for frosting b/c there were NO crumbs. When the cake was cut into, you could SEE how moist it was! The flavor is not sweet at all, and was a great balance with the sweet buttercream frosting. It was alomst white (which I loved!) Could that be b/c I used clear vanilla extract? I dunno, I had it on hand so I used it. Either way, I loved the color! I loved how easy it was to bake, and I loved how great it tasted! Thank you very much for sharing and I know this recipe will be used over and over again for many years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella R.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POUKALA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
I used this recipe for two wedding cakes that I made, based on caption from BROWNEYES230117. Not only is it structurely sound for a tiered wedding cake, it is delicious! I received rave reviews on the moistness and flavor. Over two hundred people tried and loved it. One note: this recipe as is will fill one 12" round pan 2" high. I have also make 1 1/2 the recipe to make four 8" round pans 2" high (generously). I would think it will make three 8" rounds with one batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
oh my God!!!!! This was my first time ever making a pound cake from scratch and WOW!! Did it come out pretty. I made the one sub which was all butter(1.5 cup) omiting the shortening. And yes PLEASE cover with foil when it turns the perfect color. My nephew told me to cut my last peice because the rest of the cake was his, lol. Oh and make sure you have time to make it. Beat the sugar for at least 25 mins. and bake from a cold oven. Oh and don't forget to lick the bowl!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Made it exactly as the recipe showed...The top did brown up quick in about 40 minutes so I covered it with foil. It was done in a little over an hour. Very moist- not too sweet like other reviewers have commented...I'll make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2001
This recipe was perfect. It was easy to make and it was fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I had to cut down on the sugar as my son found it too sweet Otherwise a very good cake- Thanks Browneyes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Delhi, Delhi, India
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This was the best cake I've ever had, hands down. Wow! Super moist, buttery, light, just perfect! I made a glaze for it with cinnamon, allspice, confectioners sugar, melted butter and vanilla & spooned it over the top while warm. Everyone raved. This is my new standard recipe for all cake occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2006
This cake is very easy to make and tastes great! I made an orange flavoured version. I modified it a little: I used 1 1/2 cup of margerine instead of butter and shortening; 1/2 cup milk and 1/4 cup orange juice in place of 1 1/4 cup milk. I also added 10g of emulsifier and the zest of 1 orange. I beat it with the lowest speed to get a fine texture. It was ready after only 45 mins but the outside crust was a little too brown for my liking. Next time I will reduce the temp to 150-160 C and bake it for 30-40 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States