Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 9, 2007
This was easy to make and turned out perfect. I do not bake much and my co-workers were very impressed. Moist, not too sweet. I used a recipe for lemon glaze that I found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Very good. My husband loved it! I served it with fresh strawberries and whipped cream, but it was really good all by itself too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Great basic recipe. I cut back the sugar and covered with foil early in the baking process as advised by reviewers. Turned out beautifully and served with strawberries and whipped cream. Definitely try this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHCRIPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
I've made this twice with rave reviews. It is wonderful served with cut strawberries in a sugar/water solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffaney

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
Awesome cake, great taste and texture! It's not unusual to have to cover a bundt cake part way thru cooking...but it's well worth it! My new staple white cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2007
Made it exactly as the recipe showed...The top did brown up quick in about 40 minutes so I covered it with foil. It was done in a little over an hour. Very moist- not too sweet like other reviewers have commented...I'll make it again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
This was the best cake I've ever had, hands down. Wow! Super moist, buttery, light, just perfect! I made a glaze for it with cinnamon, allspice, confectioners sugar, melted butter and vanilla & spooned it over the top while warm. Everyone raved. This is my new standard recipe for all cake occasions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
My first time making pound cake and it turned out perfectly.I chose this recipe because I had all ingredients on hand, I'm so glad I did.It really was great.We used it for chocolate fondue and strawberry shortcake it worked perfect for both.Thanks for this awesome recipe.P.S. I did however cut the sugar back to 2 cups and it was syill definatley a sweet cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
It tasted good but I couldn't serve it b/c it burned after only 60 minutes of cooking. I had to tent with foil after just 30 minutes. I suppose my oven could be off-temp, but I've never experienced anything like this before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
So far this is the best pound cake I have ever eaten or made. I did make some minor changes, first of all I creamed the butter, shortening, and sugar for 25 mins, it was so light and fluffy( that is the secert to a great cake base).Then I added 1 egg at a time and beat for 30 seconds apeice. I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of vanilla extract and 1 teaspoon of lemon extract.I also added 1 tablespoon of corn starch for each cup of flour (the cornstarch turns the all-purpose flour into cake flour). Last but not least I made some sour milk by adding 1 tablespoon of vinger and 1/4 teaspoon of vinger to the milk and let it turn while I was creaming the first 3 ingredients ( sour milk is just homemade buttermilk) Also start and end with the dry ingredients. Do not over beat when you start adding the dry ingredients or the cake will be tough. I baked the cake at 325 dregrees for 90 mins, but start checking after 60 mins. The last 20 mins I tented the cake with foil shinny side up away from the cake. Ummmmm, ummmm, good this cake was not dense at all it was so light, best pound cake to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
376 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Cove, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 109) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States