Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I made this cake this morning. It was wonderful. Came out so moist. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
After reading the reviews I made some modifications mostly from "Carthecook". I substituted butter milk for the plain milk and added extra vanilla and 1 tsp lemon extract. This cake was delicious! I found it got better sitting over night in the fridge. It is moist and the lemon really added a light refreshing zing to the cake. I used powdered sugar, cream, vanilla and lemon extract to make a glaze. Yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Riverside, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
I bake breads all the time but have never tried a cake. I used the ingredients in the amounts listed except I used all butter (no shortening) and I followed the directions given by "CARTHECOOK" in her review. I just used regular milk (not soured). My Oh My! What a great airy pound cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I made a vegan version of this using 'egg replacer' and soya milk mixed with water (60-40 ratio) and the result was a very nice soft cake. Everyone in my family loved it; thx for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2010
i gave it 5 stars for simplicity and the ability to substitute successfully: While it seems impossible, I made it a mission to make this delectable dessert "healthy-ish." I used 1 cup of Lite ICBINB and 1/4 cup butter (for flavor,) 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of stevia, 3 eggs, 2 tbls of vanilla, 1 cup of skim milk, 3 cups of whole wheat flour, and 3 tbls of cornstarch. I can honestly say that the family loved it and didn't miss a thing...it came out beautifully and tasted oh so sinful. Mission accomplished! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I loved this recipe! I made it in two loaf pans, and it turned out terrific! I followed the recipe exactly, it has great taste and texture and even looks delicious! I will definitely make this again sometime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
I love this recipe, it almost taste as good as my grandmother's pound cake. I can not find her recipe, so I will be using this one for now on...My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
This is the best cake I have ever made.I would make this again and again. I love it. Thank You For The Recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine Crehan
Home Town: Folsom, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Well, I didn't make this cake but I did have a piece of the one that Klassy made. Delicious and I will be trying to make one real soon. Some did not like the three cups of sugar but it was fine to me. The cake was not overly sweet. I do agree that it doesn't need any type of glaze...it was perfect as is. I would like to try it with stawberries and whipped cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
I loved it I totally agree with CarThe Cook...Between the both of you I made a prefect pound cake..I altered by using cake flour instead of flour...and i used 1tsp of almond extract and 11/4 tsp of vanilla extract...as far as the butter, sugar, and shortening I beat it for 15-20 min...and i used heavy cream instead of milk....This was my second time making a pound cake and this was a great great recipe...Love it thank you and thanks to carthecook
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klassy1

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States