Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
It tasted good but I couldn't serve it b/c it burned after only 60 minutes of cooking. I had to tent with foil after just 30 minutes. I suppose my oven could be off-temp, but I've never experienced anything like this before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
So far this is the best pound cake I have ever eaten or made. I did make some minor changes, first of all I creamed the butter, shortening, and sugar for 25 mins, it was so light and fluffy( that is the secert to a great cake base).Then I added 1 egg at a time and beat for 30 seconds apeice. I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of vanilla extract and 1 teaspoon of lemon extract.I also added 1 tablespoon of corn starch for each cup of flour (the cornstarch turns the all-purpose flour into cake flour). Last but not least I made some sour milk by adding 1 tablespoon of vinger and 1/4 teaspoon of vinger to the milk and let it turn while I was creaming the first 3 ingredients ( sour milk is just homemade buttermilk) Also start and end with the dry ingredients. Do not over beat when you start adding the dry ingredients or the cake will be tough. I baked the cake at 325 dregrees for 90 mins, but start checking after 60 mins. The last 20 mins I tented the cake with foil shinny side up away from the cake. Ummmmm, ummmm, good this cake was not dense at all it was so light, best pound cake to date.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
414 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CARTHECOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Mill Cove, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2006
Great recipe!!! A keeper, easy to make, great taste and nice grain. I just took out of oven and I am making a symple syrup of 1/4 of sugar, 1/4 cup water and boiling it. When cooled I will add a tsp of Chambord Liqour (rapsberry flavored) and moist it with this. The cake itself is moist but I like flavoring syrups on my cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSEBUDS007

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carolina, Carolina, Puerto Rico
Living In: Canóvanas, Canovanas, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I made this cake for our Ramadan holiday. It was wonderful. My husband really enjoyed it. I think this one is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JameelahS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This recipe was easy to follow and the directions were clear and concise.The cake had a great crumb and was very moist. I would definitely make this one agian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Laurens, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
I found this a very sugary pound cake but it was very delicious. I only cooked it for 50min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lynden, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
Mediocre. It was greasy and bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2006
Best pound cake I have ever had. I will use this pound cake recipe for the rest of my life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Dunaway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Excellent recipe. I am a first time pound cake maker and this recipe was great for me. The cake turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
This was amazing.....this was my first cake from scratch and it was to die for...it was gone in one day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Freeport, Freeport, Bahamas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States