Pound Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
I was able to make 2 lamb cakes with this recipe!! I wouldn't change a thing. Just remember to put toothpicks in the ear and cover theme with batter. Then Mom always gets the ears!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by samantha
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2015
Love this pound cake! I added lemon extract (1 tsp) and a homemade buttercream frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
Good recipe. I feel like something is missing. I think I will add fresh lemon juice and zest next time instead of Lemon extract as recommended on one of the reviews. Family ate it, but not as fast as usual. Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2015
This is amazing "pound" cake. I've always found pound cakes to be a little dangerous..too dense, not enough flavor, difficult to layer, and so on. This cake is, hands down, the most amazing cake (period) I've ever made. Yes, yes, cream the sugar and butter for the full 25 minutes, it makes all the difference. Add your eggs one at a time, and mix each for at least 30 seconds. I used half regular milk and half buttermilk. Also, I followed the recommendation of substituting a bit of lemon extract for some of the vanilla with a fantastic result. I made two (rather thick) layers, and then split those for a beautiful 4 layer cake...made some strawberry filling...and it was spectacular!!! This will be my go-to cake recipe from this point on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
Good. I added 1-2 tsp almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Commerce Township, Michigan, USA
Living In: Waukesha, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
Based on the reviews, I adjusted the amount of sugar to 2.25 cups and I used brown sugar. Came out really good. Would make it again and maybe add some flavoring. Great around-the-house-during-the-week-something-to-satisfy-my-sweet-tooth cake! ??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This is the best pound cake I've ever made!! It was moist, delicious, and just perfect. Did I already say it was delicious? This will be my number one pound cake recipe. I think the balance of butter and butter flavored Crisco is the reason why this cake was so..... moist. I used Vanilla Butternut flavoring instead of vanilla as I think it has a better flavor than regular vanilla flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Amazing cake , like the others I creamed the butter and sugar for almost 25 minutes , Next time I will reduce to the sugar , it was too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made this recipe into cupcakes (I stopped at 24 and threw the rest of the batter away). WAY TOO MUCH SUGAR. The bottom of my cupcake papers were VERY oily. The tops of the cupcakes were crunchy and flat. The insides were a beautiful light and fluffy texture. Not sure if baking as cupcakes instead of a cake made a difference, but I am not going to try again to find out. EDIT--9/23/14--Had to come back and change my rating. Tasted these again last night and this morning and what a difference in the taste! Still just a little too sweet, so will cut back a LITTLE on the sugar. The tops of my cupcakes have turned out to be my favorite part--not crunchy now, kind of a chewy texture (not sure how to describe). I did not put any frosting on them. Just wish they weren't flat. Might be something I did. Will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
I cut down the sugar to one cup..... taste much better :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States