Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Good pound cake. Not dense. Not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Extremely bland. This recipe needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baker'sDozen
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This cake did not turn out very sweet, which may be a good thing, depending on who you're serving it to. The taste of the eggs is quite strong also. In the future I would try to reduce the number of eggs and increase the amount of sugar just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
very good delicious cake! I added a little vanilla for taste and I had to cook it about twice as long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
My whole family liked the cake. We used is with strawberries and ice cream. PERFECT! Light and sweet. I made cupcakes with it however and that didn't work so well. Next time I will try making a loaf as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Oleksy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I picked this recipe because I had most of the ingredients on hand. it was really easy to make and tasted great. I did add some vanilla extract when i was creaming the sugar and butter. it was a very sweet cake but still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Good poundcake!4 stars only to leave room for improvement.After the review saying the cake was dry and bland I decided to add 1/2 cup butter,1/2 cup sour cream,1/2 t mexican vanilla(Poundcakes are expensive and I didn't want my ingredients wasted on a dry,bland recipe).I used a greased and floured bundt pan.It turned out beautiful and tasted delicious.The ONLY thing I would change is that it was a little porous for my taste.I like a DENSE pound cake.We ate with strawberries and whipped cream.It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Was very good tasting but I think there may have been an error in posting of the recipe. It said cook for 20-25 mins at 350. It took at least double that time. It was still a great cake and I used a buttercream frosting that went wonderfully with the cake. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
A great classic pound cake. A little crunchy on the outside and moist in the middle. I served it with Strawberries and whip cream. Yummy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
Although this cake came out looking very good, I found it a bit too bland and a little dry. Next time I would put in more butter and some vanilla flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States