Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
The crumb was coarse and dry. It offered little more than an eggy flavor despite adding pure vanilla to the recipe. The baking time was incorrect for bundt cake baking, as it was still unset and wiggled at 25 minutes. I baked this recipe for 40 minutes. The firm crust was more tasty than the cake's body. No one in our venue liked this cake, despite offering a rum glaze in an attempt to revive this dull, poorly textured cake. I would not bake this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TRE8JSE
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Good pound cake. Not dense. Not very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRE8JSE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Extremely bland. This recipe needs some work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baker'sDozen
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This cake did not turn out very sweet, which may be a good thing, depending on who you're serving it to. The taste of the eggs is quite strong also. In the future I would try to reduce the number of eggs and increase the amount of sugar just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
very good delicious cake! I added a little vanilla for taste and I had to cook it about twice as long
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
My whole family liked the cake. We used is with strawberries and ice cream. PERFECT! Light and sweet. I made cupcakes with it however and that didn't work so well. Next time I will try making a loaf as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summer Oleksy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I picked this recipe because I had most of the ingredients on hand. it was really easy to make and tasted great. I did add some vanilla extract when i was creaming the sugar and butter. it was a very sweet cake but still good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Smithtown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2005
Good poundcake!4 stars only to leave room for improvement.After the review saying the cake was dry and bland I decided to add 1/2 cup butter,1/2 cup sour cream,1/2 t mexican vanilla(Poundcakes are expensive and I didn't want my ingredients wasted on a dry,bland recipe).I used a greased and floured bundt pan.It turned out beautiful and tasted delicious.The ONLY thing I would change is that it was a little porous for my taste.I like a DENSE pound cake.We ate with strawberries and whipped cream.It was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
Was very good tasting but I think there may have been an error in posting of the recipe. It said cook for 20-25 mins at 350. It took at least double that time. It was still a great cake and I used a buttercream frosting that went wonderfully with the cake. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2002
A great classic pound cake. A little crunchy on the outside and moist in the middle. I served it with Strawberries and whip cream. Yummy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States