Pound Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
A very tasty cake. If you have trouble with an under done center, do not preheat your oven. This allows the center to get done before the sides get too brown and dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I was a little worried about the thickness of the batter but it turned out very well although it took 10 minutes more to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I have made this pound cake many times, and it has always tasted great! Something that you might want to do though is add a little lemon and orange zest(1 tsp). It makes the the cake taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
Turned out extremely dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by i <3 my marine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
I followed the directions exactly because I was giving it as a present. Seems kind of dry and bland...not very special at all. I had high hopes because of the high star rating, but was disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aniaNJ
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
I love this cake!! this is my first attempt at making pound cake, and I'm happy to say it turned out perfect. I followed the recipe exactly, and yes, the egg whites must be whipped to form soft peaks, don't leave out any of the steps, and you will be happy with the results. I used a Pyrex 8x4 loaf pan, and baking time was 1 hour and 20 minutes, just make sure you test it by inserting a toothpick in the center of the cake, and if it comes out clean then you can be sure the center is not raw. This cake is delicious, thank you for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
This is definitely a classic pound cake recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and baked it in a 9x5 inch glass baking dish. Mine took 1 hour and 10 minutes with no raw center. It was light, fluffy, and moist. It's perfect for stawberry shortcake and the slices freeze well. Be sure to whip the egg whites until they form stiff white peaks - it makes a difference. I couldn't believe how light and fluffy my pound cake turned out because of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2009
This cake was amazing! Def. a family favorite because it is so light and fluffy -- BUT you might need to bake it a little bit longer 'cause the middle of mine was barely cooked! But overall a wonderful find!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jane Austen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, because I followed the instructions in this recipe step by step, but the middle of my cake came out raw.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by knit chic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
This is one of the better basic pound cakes I have had on this site. A lot of complaints about dryness, well if you use butter, beat thoroughly and only beat egg whites until they hold soft peaks it should not be dry. Actually it tastes better after it sits a day. Thanks for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.
Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States