Potunas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is sort of like a tuna casserole in potato form. Was a big hit with kids, they didn't even notice there was fish. However, it didn't go over well with me. The texture was a little funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My husband has been talking fondly of this dish for years so I finally researched AR and fortunately found this recipe. After reading the other reviews, I decided to use some of the other cook's advise with great success. I baked the potatoes on the oven rack after slathering with EVOO and kosher salt (lightly). The tuna mixture was seasoned with 2 tsp Old Bay Seasoning, 1/3 cp maoy and 1/3 cp sour cream along with the scallion onions. My husband was thrilled and announced, "now this is comfort food!". Thank you, Nascargirl and your thoughtful stepmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
It was good but if you cut the amount of mayo in half and add sour cream, it's even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was actually really good. I microwaved the potatoes for 10 min (5min then turned over and another 5min). Added salt and pepper to the tuna, pot, mayo, green onion mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia777
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A cook in Houston
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
If you are tired of tuna sandwiches or tuna caserole, this is a great change for canned tuna. I used a little bit more mayo, I think it depends on the size of the potatoes, and added Tony Chazery's for some spice. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I thought these were very good and my 8 year old son loved them (he kept eating the filling while I was stuffing the skins). My husband thought they were OK and my picky 9 year old daughter would't eat them. But they're not tuna lovers so that is not a surprise. If you do like tuna, you'll love these. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This recipe was just okay. It was a little dry and I even used half mayo half sour cream. Next time I am thinking of adding butter and more salt to the mixture. I also just nuked the potatoes then finished them in the oven. Something I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icooknaked

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
We love these. They are yummy and easy to make. We make them regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
We ate these for lunch, and they were great. I used 6 potatoes since some of mine were smallish. I added 1 tsp. of yellow curry to the mix and used fat free miricle whip instead of mayo. I also used mozzerella instead of cheddar since I thought it would go better with the curry. I think these would have been a tiny bit on the boring side if I hadn't of added the curry, but still would have been pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I had lost the recipe for potunas & took a chance on a recipe search since my mother had gotten the recipe back in the 1960s. So glad to find it again! These are delicious left over - cold or warmed. Thanks Nascargirl88 & allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Ham and Hash Brown Casserole

This casserole is everything you love about breakfast in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States