Potunas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
This recipe was just okay. It was a little dry and I even used half mayo half sour cream. Next time I am thinking of adding butter and more salt to the mixture. I also just nuked the potatoes then finished them in the oven. Something I will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icooknaked

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My husband has been talking fondly of this dish for years so I finally researched AR and fortunately found this recipe. After reading the other reviews, I decided to use some of the other cook's advise with great success. I baked the potatoes on the oven rack after slathering with EVOO and kosher salt (lightly). The tuna mixture was seasoned with 2 tsp Old Bay Seasoning, 1/3 cp maoy and 1/3 cp sour cream along with the scallion onions. My husband was thrilled and announced, "now this is comfort food!". Thank you, Nascargirl and your thoughtful stepmom!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
These were delicious! I had made something similar before but never thought to use tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Much better than expected. I made them with smaller red potatoes & without the cheese. They would make great appetizers. Next time we want to try it with sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
We really enjoyed these. I let my potatoes bake for a little over an hour. It was a little difficult to scrap out the insides, my potatoes kept wanting to fall apart. I used 8 potatoes, 3 packets of tuna and 2 cups of shredded cheese and found the filling to be plenty to stuff all the halves. I also added some salt, pepper and about 2 teaspoons of minced garlic to the mixture. Taste was good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mcpherson, Kansas, USA
Photo by missdrea
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
instead of baking these for an hour i nuked them 5 mins, flipped them, and nuked them another 5 mins. after i scooped out the flesh (to which i added garlic powder and celery salt)i placed them flesh side down and rubbed with olive oil and sprinkled with sea salt. i baked them directly on the oven rack with a baking sheet on the rack beneath it to catch any potato ooze.after much contemplation i served with garlic toast topped with sauteed mushrooms in garlic(also from this site). thanks for a different approach to using inexpensive tuna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
I was pleasantly surprised by this dish. We had dubbed it Tuna Boats by dinnertime, though Potunas is quite an inventive name. I added Creole Seasoning to the mixture to spice it up and ended up using about 1/4 cup reduced fat sour cream and 1/2 cup light mayo. This is such an economical, tasty, and simple meal; I'm glad I found it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
This is sort of like a tuna casserole in potato form. Was a big hit with kids, they didn't even notice there was fish. However, it didn't go over well with me. The texture was a little funny.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
These are really good for a Sunday lunch. I use light mayo and they still turn out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I saw jolene's review of this, and thought I'd try it for lunch. I pretty much eyeballed the ingredients, and it turned out great. Very filling. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Pocket Dinner

This family-pleasing dinner is delicious and easy on the budget.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States