Potunas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 27, 2015
This has been a staple in our house for thirty years or more. We usually use chives because they are growing right outside the kitchen door. We put most of the cheese into the potato mixture and then add a topping -- beat two egg whites until stiff, fold in a couple of tablespoons of mayo and the remaining cheese. The topping browns during the final bake. Great comfort food. Chopped onion and chopped red bell pepper are other good additions. Haven't tried sautéed mushrooms but bet they would be great. It is a very forgiving recipe. TIP: use a melon baller to remove the inside of the baked potato. It is much easier to control as compared to a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Hoeger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
We really enjoy this for a change up of the ordinary. Lots of options: Crumble bacon on top, add green onions, different spices to add a twist (italian, seafood, etc.) and super easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springdale, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
Nice flavour combination! The first time I made it just as written and it turned out great; my young kids liked it and the adults enjoyed it too. The next time I made it I didn't plan ahead and so quickly boiled & mashed the potatoes and blended the remaining ingredients together, then spread it into an oven pan and baked 20 minutes. Turned out fluffy with a crispy top, and shaved about 40 minutes off the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This was yummy. I added chives from my garden because I didnt have green onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliceF

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Pere, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I think im going to go make myself a snack! thanks for the great recipe. I thought this was so yummy. but instead of in the oven i microwaved it, but it was still really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kit_kat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I thought these were very good and my 8 year old son loved them (he kept eating the filling while I was stuffing the skins). My husband thought they were OK and my picky 9 year old daughter would't eat them. But they're not tuna lovers so that is not a surprise. If you do like tuna, you'll love these. Thanks for the great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
This was actually really good. I microwaved the potatoes for 10 min (5min then turned over and another 5min). Added salt and pepper to the tuna, pot, mayo, green onion mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia777
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Why I love allrecipes! This was in various women's magazines in about 1968 before we had started to worry about fat. I liked it then, made it often, tossed the recipe because it was so simple I didn't need it but more than 40 years later I'd forgotten the ratios. It's good as is but a little dressing up with spice or down with fat doesn't hurt. This is comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
I had lost the recipe for potunas & took a chance on a recipe search since my mother had gotten the recipe back in the 1960s. So glad to find it again! These are delicious left over - cold or warmed. Thanks Nascargirl88 & allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tuna Pocket Dinner

This family-pleasing dinner is delicious and easy on the budget.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States