Potatoes in Paper Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
I added minced garlic and bacon bits to it and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
very good! the water softened up the potatoes perfectly. I did leave the cheese out until they were done but will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeNaVii

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longview, Texas, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Were ok, but not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silmary_cd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Errantdreams
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Method is fantastic; flavor needs work. I jazzed it up a little by using, instead of butter, herbed olive oil. Wow did this create an amazing smell and some delicious flavor. Next time, however, I'd also use broth instead of water, and reduce the amount of liquid to 2-3 tablespoons instead of 1/4 cup per package. Definitely a method worth playing with. Fingerling potatoes work just as well as potato slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Errantdreams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
These were great! Of course I tweeked them. I was in the mood for au grautin potatoes but, I didn't need the leftovers. So, here's what I did. Sliced the potatoes width wise, cut the onion in half and sliced thinly. Place potato on foil, put a piece of onion between each slice, then a piece of cheese between each slice ( I used colby & sharp cheddar), then sprinkled with pepper and salt. I then took cream of mushroom soup and spooned in down the length of the potato, poured 1/4 cup of milk over the potatoe and topped it with some slices of butter - Yes I know it is high caleries!! But it was wonderful comfort food and no leftovers. This made a nice cheese sauce to dip the potato slices in. Very tasty. If you are worried about sticking use pam on the foil first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrance, California, USA
Living In: Warwick, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
This was very good. I cooked it on the bbq and it came out real tender. I think I had it too close to the heat though, the bottoms of some of them burned. So next time I will put it on the top rack of the bbq and only on medium (my grill doesn't have a temp gauge). Next time also I will use less onions on the kids packets since they thought it was too strong a flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
These were a fun snack! I incorporated tips from previous reviews ~thank you~ and I am sure this enhanced the recipe. Also, I used release foil so I didn't have problems sticking. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I love these. I season the potatoes and onions with salt and pepper and use grated cheese instead of cheese slices. They are sooo good. It seems that if you have enough moisture in the packet that there isn't a real problem with the cheese sticking to the foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2005
Very good recipe for company. I used parchment paper rather than foil so the cooking time was shorter. Guests loved it! Nice presentation, too. Bring the whole parchment packet to the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
I generously sprinkled these with seasoned salt and pepper before wrapping them in foil for more flavor. I also added the cheese after they came out of the oven because they stuck to the foil before. There's plenty of heat to still melt the cheese that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Fondant Potatoes

Impressive, perfect potatoes with tender, creamy insides and crispy edges.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States