Potatoes and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
What, no garlic, no herbs, no spices, you say? Yep, none of the above, and delicious all on its own, with just a little salt and pepper (and a mix of olive oil and bacon grease, not measured, just what I needed). Tender skinned tiny new potatoes made this particulary pretty and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Great recipe! Reminded me of restaurant potatoes! I used about half the oil since my pan was nonstick and it wasn't greasy at all. I don't like my potatoes quite so blackened so I cooked the potatoes in the microwave for about 6-7 minutes while I fried the onions and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
This was a quick and easy recipe. It was very tasty, but I found it to be fairly oily, not that olive oil isn't good for one anyway. I might quibble with the sliced potatoes; they seemed too big; maybe half-moons or even cubed potatoes would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I gave this recipe 5 stars and I'm not really sure what the problem was with the other reviews. I have struggled to make a good diner style potato and pepper dish and this is it. I used a well seasoned cast iron skillet and the potatoes came out perfectly. The peppers are tender and the onions are golden. It's fabulous. Flavor is great and it reminds me of my father-in-law's potatoes. He worked as a cook and makes the BEST breakfasts. Thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This was a really great dish! I added some turkey kielbasa to the mix to make it more of a main dish and the added flavor was wonderful. I cut down on the oil & did a mixture of rosemary, garlic, and hot pepper infused oils which I sauted the potatoes, onions & some fresh thyme in for about 10 mins. I then added a 1/2 c. of chicken stock & put the lid on to allow them to soften up. In a grill pan I roasted the sliced peppers to give them a nice grilled flavor then added them to the potatoes & onions. I seasoned the dish with adobo, garlic salt, and white pepper to taste. On the grill pan I sauted turkey kielbasa and added it to the veggie mix once it was done. I let all of the ingredients cook for about 5-10 mins more to combine the flavors and it came out awesome! We will be having this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2001
The red peppers do add a full, juicy taste to the recipe, but achieving an attractive and delectable goldness in the potatoes requires a magnificent skillet. We had it with a garden salad and French bread to some acclaim.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Growing up, this was a staple in our house, and still is today! Sometimes we add some crushed pepper flakes or mix in some hot banana peppers in w/ the red/green peppers for a bit of a kick. Simple and tasty~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
Very good, though I used considerably less oil than was recommended; just enough to get the pan oiled up instead of a full third cup. VERY tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlantic Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Catonsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is a good recipe. Instread of frying I put the whole thing in the oven. Next time I will remove the lid so it will brown up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Grew up eating these....red and green peppers, potatoes and onions....ahhh...so delicious....not really healthy but wonderful flavors. Great served on the side of a grilled steak. Still make this every once in a while and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States