Potatoes and Peppers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
The recipe shown is very simple to make and quick, so it is good. I do a few things differently. I use frozen Oreida Potatoes that won't get mushy if you add them just before the onions and peppers are cooked so that they will be tender but firm. This works great and taste very good. I use regular cooking oil to caramelized the onions with the peppers cooking them about 15 mins on a lower heat and not stirring them until translucent. Since I use this recipe to make Italian hotdogs, I add a tsp. of Intalian seasoning, salt and pepper to taste. You don't have to use oilive oil to pan cook the vegetables, but you can finish the dish off with a little of the oil poured over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
Fantastic basic fried potato recipe which reminds me of my childhood. I reduced the olive oil due to other people's reviews to 2 tablespoons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
This was not bad but also not memorable. I added fresh rosemary from my garden to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I cooked a pound of polish sausage in the pan first, removed the sausage, then cooked the potatoes, peppers and onion in the drippings. Great dish and very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
Delicious. Used seasoned salt and half of a yellow and green bell peppers that I had on hand. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cornelia_sltz
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very simple and fast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cornelia_sltz

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Delicious. My mom used to cook sliced potatoes on the stovetop for us, and I wanted a similar recipe with less oil, more nutrition. The directions worked perfectly. Thanks so much for sharing, this will be a definite repeat recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
This is a good recipe. Instread of frying I put the whole thing in the oven. Next time I will remove the lid so it will brown up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Growing up, this was a staple in our house, and still is today! Sometimes we add some crushed pepper flakes or mix in some hot banana peppers in w/ the red/green peppers for a bit of a kick. Simple and tasty~YUM! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States