Potatoes and Corn Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2013
I have made this a couple of times and it was an absolute hit. I used broth inside of the bouillon cubes, I also added a couple of diced carrots and some finely diced leftover ham. Everyone loved this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Whole family really liked this. I put this in the slowcooker and it turned out perfectly. Waited until late afternoon to add corn (last 2-3 hours) and added Lawry seasoning salt at that time. Didn't have chives so I didn't use that. Also used a potato masher and mashed up some of the potatoes before adding in the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This is one of my favorite simple potato/corn chowder soup recipes. What I like to do is instead of cooking on the stove, I layer the potatoes in my crockpot, then saute the celery with the onion and some fresh minced garlic in a little butter before adding it to the crockpot with the chives and some fresh ground pepper. Instead of using chicken bouillion (which for some reason, I rarely have on hand), I cover the ingredients with organic chicken broth. I cook that on HIGH most of the day, then mash with an old fashioned potato masher, then adding the corn. This recipe is very versatile as you can add in your favorites if you like, like shredded cheese, crumbled bacon or more sauteed vegetables or eat it as is. Great "until payday" lunch or dinner food as it costs so little to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
Very good. I boiled 3 potatoes, and 1 carrot, and mashed. Sautéed onion, celery, some diced dandelion leaves, and chives in 1 T butter. Mixed it all together with salt and pepper and frozen corn. Sprinkled the top with more chives, and fresh parsley. Also added about 1/4 whole milk, and 1/2 cheddar cheese when I added the bouillon. Kids all ate it well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I made this delicious soup the other night for my husband and myself. We added in some carrots and used 4 cubes of chicken bouillon instead of 2. It was a huge hit with my husband and we plan to add this inexpensive dish to our normal menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Quick and fun to play around with. I use the premade mashed potatoes, skip the celery (don't like it), and often add whatever veggies I have on hand, or sausage. It seems you can't really screw this up - it's creamy and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
Really great. In the beginning phase I added leeks and parsley root to give the broth more dimension and flavour. And towards the end I added a little bit of star pasta. Really great and hearty for those cold nights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
I omitted the celery, because I don't usually think it adds much, and it was great - so easy, and deliciously satisfying! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by newbie25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lebanon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
Great recipe. Some students made it for a socials studies project (to illustrate a typical menu of a particular time period) and everyone thought it was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Fabulous-one of our favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Armstrong, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Baked Potato Soup I

This soup combines potatoes with bacon, cheese, and the works.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States