Potatoes Romanoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
All I could really taste in this dish was the cheese. I will not make again, it was heavy and rather unimpressive. The dish did poof up nicely while cooking and looked impressive, but other than that, I didn't find much to recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2002
A loaded baked potato without the skin! You have to try it! This QUICKLY became a family staple. It is a must at all holiday dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2002
the only thing I would do different is cut the cheese in really small dice so it would melt more my wife like it. and so did I
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Yum; loved this Raquel! Based on what I had in the house, I had to make a couple of changes. I made mock sour cream by running fat free cottage cheese and lemon juice thru the food processor and because I'm not a huge processed cheese fan, I decided on parm instead. Also added some seasonings, sprinkled more cheese on top along with a bit of paprika for color. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This is not traditional Potatoes Romanoff and please skip the "imatation cheese" (aka Velveeta) for some high quality cheddar and leave the potatoes a bit lumpy. It won't poof as much, but will add texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
This recipe is fantastic. I made for Christmas dinner and everyone liked it. It was fairly quick and easy and actually I made it ahead and put in fridge, then baked right before dinner. I used Velveeta cheese and put a little grated Cheddar on top. I omitted the green onion and used a little onion powder because my family don't all like green onions. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Potatoes Romanoff have been a family staple at holiday meals for years. The potatoes need to be boiled then cooled then grated - skin on (so use left over boiled potatoes or boil the day before). Grating instead of mashing gives it a fluffier texture and makes it less dense. Also, switch it up by adding grated aged cheddar or Gruyere. However, cubing processed cheese does this tasty dish a huge disservice because the cheese won't evenly melt throughout the dish. Finally, I'm making it tomorrow for Cdn Thanksgiving. I'm going to add some crumbled blue cheese in with the sour cream to give the dish some extra zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2006
This was an after thought for a dinner party we had, now it's all anyone wants us to make!!! I added Garlic salt, and we left the skins in. I also melted the cheese in the Microwave first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
Wow! Wow! Wow! These are good potatoes! Too good. I ate way too much of it. I scaled the recipe for 6 servings and it was a good sized dish still. I thought I had Velveeta in the fridge, but had only a little bit of it, so I used mostly grated cheddar. I think it would have been too gooey with all Velveeta. I also didn't have any green onions, so I just sprinkled a bit of garlic powder into the mixture. Soooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
Great recipe. Made it with light sour cream and light velveeta instead of regular. Took the left overs and made a great potato soup the next night by mashing up the potatoes a little bit and adding a little chicken broth and some skim milk. May 14 update: In my orginal review I left out that I cubed the potatoes instead of mashing them. When I made the soup that is when mashed them slightly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sparta, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States