Potatoes Romanoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This is a good and easy recipe. I had to give it 4 stars though, because I thought there was little taste despite the onions and cheese, needs a little salt/pepper or any spice you would prefer and it is all good. I did not use processed cheese however and cubed up some Colby and Jack instead. I also thought it tasted better when eating leftovers a couple days later. Next time, I think I will throw some peppers in it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This was a little short on flavor for our taste. I think it needed something else???? Thanks for sharing Raquel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
Awesome!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I made these with real cheddar cheese and added a little salt to compensate since processed cheese is saltier. I also added some bacon bits. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lloydminster, Alberta, Canada
Living In: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
I make these all the time! We love them! Sorry I didn't rate sooner! This is ultimate comfort food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Great. I used lots of garlic flavoring in this, and used reduced fat four cream to cut down on the fat a little.. sprinkled a little bacon bits on top before baking..and these were awesome comfort food potatoes..will definately make again =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BethAnne923

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
Potatoes Romanoff have been a family staple at holiday meals for years. The potatoes need to be boiled then cooled then grated - skin on (so use left over boiled potatoes or boil the day before). Grating instead of mashing gives it a fluffier texture and makes it less dense. Also, switch it up by adding grated aged cheddar or Gruyere. However, cubing processed cheese does this tasty dish a huge disservice because the cheese won't evenly melt throughout the dish. Finally, I'm making it tomorrow for Cdn Thanksgiving. I'm going to add some crumbled blue cheese in with the sour cream to give the dish some extra zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I made this recipe for the first time last night. (Feb14/08) I scaled the recipe in half as to not waste a lot if my family did not like. Boy, was I wrong. They ate it up and asked for more. I will be making it as a side tonight as well! The only things I did different were to use cooking onions as I ran out of green onions and added garlic.(as I do most recipes!) I scaled down the cheese just a bit but could of used more as recipe calls for. It was delicious!! A keeper for sure in this corner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elliot Lake, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Copper Cliff, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
This is not traditional Potatoes Romanoff and please skip the "imatation cheese" (aka Velveeta) for some high quality cheddar and leave the potatoes a bit lumpy. It won't poof as much, but will add texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
Yum; loved this Raquel! Based on what I had in the house, I had to make a couple of changes. I made mock sour cream by running fat free cottage cheese and lemon juice thru the food processor and because I'm not a huge processed cheese fan, I decided on parm instead. Also added some seasonings, sprinkled more cheese on top along with a bit of paprika for color. Thanks so much!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Mascarpone Mashed Potatoes

See how to make amazing make-ahead mashers with mascarpone cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States