Potatoes Madras Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kristen Kelley
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Did this oil free. It was light but I wished I'd added more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen Kelley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
This is a very good recipe. I did have to make some adjustments for our family. We are Indian food lovers and like our spicy food - I didn't feel the original amount of curry and ginger was nearly enough. I more than doubled the amount of both. I also added a few hefty dashes of cayenne pepper to give it an extra punch. With these minor adjustments it was great - the family loved it! A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this tonight and it was OK. I would have like it to be saucier. I added more curry and a little siracha to kick it up. I think that I will continue looking for a recipe with cauliflower and Indian spices. This was not one that I would would try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NancySacTown

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roseville, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
This dish was great! Word from the wise- definitely use red lentils (or else pre-cook other types to an extent), as red lentils will cook at a faster rate than other types of lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Great recipe. Would definitely go well with some naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
wow! this was sooo good. i changed it slightly so i cant give five stars but even if you follow it to the letter, you cant go wrong with this recipe. i soaked the lentils in water while i prepared the other vegetables and i used apricot jam instead of the chutney since i like my curries to be hot, sweet and spicy. i took another reviewers hint and fried a bit of cumin and ground coriander with the ginger and curry powder. other than these minor changes, i followed the recipe. thankyou for submitting such an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Delicious! Spices were just right for me, although I did add cinnamon, just because I love it. I looked for a recipe to use up cauliflower and potatoes. I didn't have mango and also threw in some pumpkin I had on hand. I thought the pumpkin would add color, but it cooked into the sauce, which turned out fine. I pre-soaked the lentils in broth while chopping, as another user suggested. I ended up adding more broth and cooking for longer. Makes enough for an army! I now have lunches for the next week :) Thanks Darkstorm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
LOVED this recipe! Husband, 2-year old and 8 month old all loved it too! Flavors are delicious, and it is surprisingly quick and easy to make. Couldn't find Mango Chutney at the grocery, so I used Mango Salsa instead, worked great! (I used 3 heaping Tb) Also, I soaked the lentils in the vegetable broth for ~20 mins before adding to the pan. Can easily add the entire head of cauliflower. Thanks so much for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Vegan friends were visiting in two hours and the grocery store is 30 minutes one way from my meat and dairy lovers' kitchen, and this was the perfect recipe. The only ingredients I didn't have on hand were the canned tomatoes and the mango chutney. I improvised on the tomatoes by dicing a large fresh tomato from my garden and a can of tomato sauce. I happened to have the fixings to make a small batch of "Mango Chutney" from the recipe on this site (which was perfect in and on as a condiment for this dish). I doubled the recipe to serve 8 and still have lunch for tomorrow, and everybody loved it!! I feel like a winner after what seemed like a hopeless situation only a few hours ago! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Living In: Chestertown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
I nearly doubled the spice and chutney, but apart from that, it was outstanding and we will definitely make it again. I used brown lentils, since that's what we had, and they worked well but needed a little longer to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States