Potatoes Au Gratin with Fennel and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I have made this twice now and it has turned out EXCELLENT both times. I started to use it as a base recipe, but have ended up following it pretty much to a T, except for the fennel since I generally dont have it on hand. I also include about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of diced onion (eyeballed), sprinkling it on during the layering process. I definitely have to agree with a previous reviewer in that prep time is AT LEAST an hour, even with using a food processor for slicing the taters. Still, it is tasty, and now my go to recipe for gratin. Yummy goodness! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was very good. I used pancetta instead of bacon, reduced-fat milk instead of whole, and dried basil (didn't have fresh). It needed a bit longer to cook the potatoes (and I thought I sliced them thin enough), but it was worth the wait. A good left-over side dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
DELISH! I used smart balance margarine in lieu of butter, reduced the flour to 4T, used 1 12 oz can f/f evaporated milk and additional 8 oz of 1% milk (6 oz initially and the other 2 as the cheese sauce congealed between layering to thin it out), used 4 oz of velveeta 2%, 9 slices (1/2 package) of low sodium bacon, and added a small onion cut into rings and layered with everything. I was skeptical about the basil, and thought parsley would work better, but tried it and it worked! thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmela McCleary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Wow, this was so good I am craving more as I write this review. Every single person in my family, toddlers included, ate this so fast that we barely came up for air! Normally my husband does not like fennel, so thanks for a recipe that makes us both happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Love it, love it, love it! And my picky boyfriend does, too. Great with pork loin and salad. Be brave with the basil- would prefer a little more next time. I took the advice to par-boil the potatoes, boiled for about 7 minutes, then sliced. Cook for the full 90 minutes. Thanks for a good one! Having never had fennel before, I feel much more confident after tasting this great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by korilynne
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
I was a little skeptical after reading some of the reviews. But, I decided to make it anyway and I am so glad I did. It is a wonderfully delicious recipe following the directions exactly. My husband who hates anything out of the ordinary absolutely loved this and even took leftovers to work the next day. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This is sooo easy to make and is well worth the cooking time. My family love it. Last time I omitted the bacon and used Mexican cheese. It was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs smiff

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Berkeley, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I didn't know what fennel was, but it came in a CSA basket and this recipe was a choice my entire family enjoyed. Left out the bacon because I didn't have any, but can imagine that would make it very hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
OMG how could something NOT be good with bacon in it? I didn't use fennel or basil because I didn't have any, but did use flat-leaf parsley.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Superstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by docswife
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Very nice recipe. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States