Potatoes Au Gratin with Fennel and Bacon Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Wow, this was so good I am craving more as I write this review. Every single person in my family, toddlers included, ate this so fast that we barely came up for air! Normally my husband does not like fennel, so thanks for a recipe that makes us both happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
The prep took me over an hour. Par boil the potatoes to lessen cooking time. I cooked it for an hour and a half as directed, and the potatoes still weren't cooked. It took so long to make, I almost didn't care how it tasted. And there are too many ingredients for me. Potatoes, cheese and bacon pretty much does it for this kind of dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa j

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
I have made this twice now and it has turned out EXCELLENT both times. I started to use it as a base recipe, but have ended up following it pretty much to a T, except for the fennel since I generally dont have it on hand. I also include about 1/2 to 3/4 cup of diced onion (eyeballed), sprinkling it on during the layering process. I definitely have to agree with a previous reviewer in that prep time is AT LEAST an hour, even with using a food processor for slicing the taters. Still, it is tasty, and now my go to recipe for gratin. Yummy goodness! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
This was very good. I used pancetta instead of bacon, reduced-fat milk instead of whole, and dried basil (didn't have fresh). It needed a bit longer to cook the potatoes (and I thought I sliced them thin enough), but it was worth the wait. A good left-over side dish. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
DELISH! I used smart balance margarine in lieu of butter, reduced the flour to 4T, used 1 12 oz can f/f evaporated milk and additional 8 oz of 1% milk (6 oz initially and the other 2 as the cheese sauce congealed between layering to thin it out), used 4 oz of velveeta 2%, 9 slices (1/2 package) of low sodium bacon, and added a small onion cut into rings and layered with everything. I was skeptical about the basil, and thought parsley would work better, but tried it and it worked! thanks for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmela McCleary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Love it, love it, love it! And my picky boyfriend does, too. Great with pork loin and salad. Be brave with the basil- would prefer a little more next time. I took the advice to par-boil the potatoes, boiled for about 7 minutes, then sliced. Cook for the full 90 minutes. Thanks for a good one! Having never had fennel before, I feel much more confident after tasting this great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
Good, but not worth the calories and time involved for me. The fennel remained crisp, so the texture wasn't just right. The sauce didn't quite cover the top -- if using a 9 x 13 pan, use only 1/4 of sauce on layers one and two to cover completely with layer three. (I made it just as described except I parboiled the potatoes so I could peel them easily and slice then thin.) Update: A lot of leftovers as we didn't really enjoy this. I put the leftovers in a blender with some skim milk and then heated it for soup, and that was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I omitted the bacon because I was serving this as a side dish to a roasted pork tenderloin. It was exactly the side dish I was looking for! Would be a great holiday side dish, too. Again, I really don't think you need the bacon at all! Dee-lish! Save some of the cheddar to sprinkle on the top and broil to crisp it up a wee bit before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeattleGal34

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chelan, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by docswife
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
Very nice recipe. Thanks for the keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by docswife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Morganfield, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Very easy and very good. Bf liked it, which is always a plus. He's not one for trying new foods, and although he likes potatoes au gratin he's convinced he dislikes fennel. As a result, all I have in the house are fennel seeds. So, I put some fennel seeds in with the flour and milk mixture to get the flavor of fennel. I also added the basil and bacon to the cheese mix--I just am not a big fan of layering ingredients when they'll get mixed together anyway. Directions are spot on for a gratin, although 1 1/2 hours at 325 is not enough to bake these potatoes. I baked for about 2 hours with it covered, then another 1/2 hour uncovered to crisp the top. It was fine because I made it the night before and just warmed it up before we ate tonight. However, if you want to bake it in the 1 1/2 hours described, bake it at 400. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States