Potato and Shiitake Mushroom Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
omitted rosemary and reduced cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
This was a very rich dish. It was also absolutely delicious! For the first layer of cheese I did thin cut gouda with grated romano, for the second layer of cheese I did feta and romano, and the top layer was just the romano. The mixture of the three cheeses was decadent. Family members who had already eaten elsewhere found themselves having seconds. I do wish I had added more shitake mushrooms, but other than that, this dish was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosalani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hoolehua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
Really good! Really, really, really good!!! I didn't follow the recipe exactly. I used less potatoes and didn't measure out anything except one cup of broth. Also, I didn't have any cream so I substituted it for a can of cream of mushroom soup. I basically just threw everything together here and it was fantastic!!! Everyone loved it. I tossed a bit of bread crumbs on top near the end to make it crispy. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by b-unit

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2010
This was great and will probably become a Holiday potato dish. I did not add any thyme or rosemary (not a fan of either of these spices) and only used half the recommend mushrooms (1 pre-sliced pack of baby bellas) and it was still delicious. Next time I will bake a little bit longer so it is crustier on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jShizz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I cut the recipe in half because I'm only cooking for two. I used dried shiitake mushrooms that I soaked in hot water for 30 mins, and fresh white mushrooms. I made exactly as written, except that I added a little butter after it was done. Very very good, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This dish was yummy! Just remember when cooking for a real vegetarian, we don't eat chicken or beef broth. I used vegy broth and it was delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRZ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
Delicious! Made it just as it said. Used good parmesan that I grated and I think that made a difference. Absolutely delicious...everyone wants the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
Easy, another way to make the humble potato taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
Delightful! The only things I changed were to use 2 cups of half & half instead of 1 cup of cream and 1 half & half and to toss in a handful of chopped green onions. A great recipe, and I can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
My husband Loves Potatos and we all love Mushrooms. This was great. I did not have the thyme and I didn't put the called for amount of rosemary (didn't have it) and it was awesome. This may even become a Thanksgiving and Christmas favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherri

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Petal, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States