Potato and Shiitake Mushroom Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was great as a side dish to steak. I used fat free half-and-half, a parmesan/pecorino-romano blend, and only shiitake mushrooms (only because I did not have any other types of mushrooms). The step involving boiling off the chicken broth from the mushrooms was surprisingly worth it as it added a layer of flavor to the dish. Next time I may try light cream instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Franklin Square, New York, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
Awesome, a hit every time I make it! I change it up sometimes when shitake not available. I add 1lb portabello and .5lb chimeron mushrooms instead. I also will add .5 cup asiago cheese instead of parm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This dish is outstanding! I made it for a New Year's Day brunch and everyone really enjoyed it. If you like mushrooms, you will love this. And if you like wine this is a dish for you, because the flavor compliments wine beautifully. I put the whole dish together the night before, and the day of my brunch all I had to do was put it in the oven. The only complaint I have is that it bubbled up so much while it was baking that it made a mess all over the bottom of my oven, so next time I will use a slightly larger pan than what is called for. There will definitely be a next time! Thanks for sharing this recipe, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2006
Made this last year for Thanksgiving when relatives came into town. My husband thought it ambitious to make and serve something I had never made - Well, these potatoes were one of the stars of dinner! I was worried about the bake time since the bird was in the oven too and the temp was 25 degrees less. I compensated by placing them in the oven for 2 hours and 15 minutes at 350. Can't wait to make them again this year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
I made this recipe for a church barbecue potluck on a Tuesday evening and people could not stop praising it. The pastor even complimented me again on the following Sunday! I added fresh basil and substituted Portobello mushrooms for the Shitakes. This is just the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
I made this last Thanksgiving and just made it again for Mother's Day because my Mother-In-Law requested it. I don't normally like creamy dishes but this one is FANTASTIC! It is ALWAYS the first leftover my husband eats up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
This is excellent tasting. It passed my husband and father-in-law's critique as well. They loved it! I used a whole cube of butter instead of the 6 TB as the'shrooms really soak it up. Also, instead of reducing the chicken stock until it disappears, I simmered the mushrooms in the stock for about 5-10 minutes then transfered them to the potatoes. I made a sauce to go over our steaks with the reserved chicken stock and seasonings. It was a very good use of the stock. They liked that as well. In all, quite a successful meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2005
I used low-fat milk in place of the heavy cream to cut some of the fat and it still turned out beautifully. I will definitely make again. I used brown button mushrooms and I think it would be good with any type you prefer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2005
I have made this recipe twice for guests and it was a large hit. I suggest to follow the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
excellent just the way it is, didn't change a thing although it did need to cook for 2 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Truffled Potato Gratin

A creamy potato gratin starring a special truffle-studded Italian cheese.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States