Potato and Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
My family and I think this is FABULOUS!! Thanks for this "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Why use margarine in ANYTHING? Potato soup is rich & creamy because of butter! Margarine tastes terrible and is made of unhealthy oils. If you want to cut out a little fat, use whole milk, half & half, part evaporated milk, a little yogurt or sour cream, etc. in place of heavy whipping cream. You'll still get the creaminess, and much better flavor. And they must have used 2 REALLY GIANT RED POTATOES. No indication of size in this recipe. I found instructions in many recipes on this site lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sapper26
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Fantastic flavor. I was concerned about the consistency (I was looking for something more like chowder) so I went with six medium sized red potatoes. It was still a little thin so before adding the cream I put it back up to boil... That was a mistake. I left for a few minutes and I had potato soup splattering all over my stove! I actually ended up adding two cups of water to thin it out. I'm going to have to play with it to get the consistency I want but overall a great recipe. I did toss a clove of garlic in with the onions and I also added half a dozen strips of diced up, cooked bacon with the cream. This will definitely be made again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapper26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Vermont, USA
Living In: Northfield, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very thin. I would halve the water next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Added some smoked bacon and garlic oil(oil were the garlic was fried :) ) Great taste! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
1 tablespoon of salt is way too much. I doubled the recipe and only used 11/2 teaspoons of salt. It was very good. I didn't have leeks so I used 2 onlions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Doubled potato, used sour cream instead of cream, and added a can of sweet corn. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARHYSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This soup was awesome...like someone else mentioned I'm not sure what happened to others who attempted this one but it was great for me..I left out the leeks because I didn't have any and threw in a chunk of smoked sausage...I definitely didn't make enough myself, my husband and my 2 yr old devoured all of this.:) Thanks for the recipe! (Potato Soup is one of my favorite soups)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Fantastic recipe. I used olive oil and added a couple ground up turkey Italian sausages to the pot which added a nice bit of meaty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I used chicken broth and 2% milk, but added another potato to make it thicker. I also added a garlic clove. It was really good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Soup

Have leftover mashed potatoes? Make this tasty soup!

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States