Potato and Onion Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Why use margarine in ANYTHING? Potato soup is rich & creamy because of butter! Margarine tastes terrible and is made of unhealthy oils. If you want to cut out a little fat, use whole milk, half & half, part evaporated milk, a little yogurt or sour cream, etc. in place of heavy whipping cream. You'll still get the creaminess, and much better flavor. And they must have used 2 REALLY GIANT RED POTATOES. No indication of size in this recipe. I found instructions in many recipes on this site lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sapper26
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Fantastic flavor. I was concerned about the consistency (I was looking for something more like chowder) so I went with six medium sized red potatoes. It was still a little thin so before adding the cream I put it back up to boil... That was a mistake. I left for a few minutes and I had potato soup splattering all over my stove! I actually ended up adding two cups of water to thin it out. I'm going to have to play with it to get the consistency I want but overall a great recipe. I did toss a clove of garlic in with the onions and I also added half a dozen strips of diced up, cooked bacon with the cream. This will definitely be made again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sapper26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colchester, Vermont, USA
Living In: Northfield, Vermont, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very thin. I would halve the water next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kalynn Sinnamon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Added some smoked bacon and garlic oil(oil were the garlic was fried :) ) Great taste! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2009
1 tablespoon of salt is way too much. I doubled the recipe and only used 11/2 teaspoons of salt. It was very good. I didn't have leeks so I used 2 onlions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
Doubled potato, used sour cream instead of cream, and added a can of sweet corn. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARHYSMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
This soup was awesome...like someone else mentioned I'm not sure what happened to others who attempted this one but it was great for me..I left out the leeks because I didn't have any and threw in a chunk of smoked sausage...I definitely didn't make enough myself, my husband and my 2 yr old devoured all of this.:) Thanks for the recipe! (Potato Soup is one of my favorite soups)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
Fantastic recipe. I used olive oil and added a couple ground up turkey Italian sausages to the pot which added a nice bit of meaty flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
I used chicken broth and 2% milk, but added another potato to make it thicker. I also added a garlic clove. It was really good and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
LOVED IT! But I added more potatoes and instead of the heavy cream, I used sour cream. REALLY good. My husband's having me add it to my list of things-he-loves-me-to-make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjb96a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Potato Soup

Have leftover mashed potatoes? Make this tasty soup!

Potato Leek Soup III

See how to make a comforting, creamy potato and leek soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States