Potato and Jalapeno Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2013
I give this five, because it is the first potato cheese gratin I have ever attempted that has not come out runny. We used Swiss and didn't like it, so we will be switching to cheddar or a cheddar-gruyere combo and not looking back. Also, my casserole took more than 1 1/2 hours to cook well. And I could of used more generous salt between the layers. With or without the jalapenos; good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I made this twice. First, I made it for 90-people community dinner. I used cheddar and Anaheim chilies. It was a huge hit! A lot requested servings to take home and many came up to me to compliment it. The second time I made it at home for myself. Was not a fan of the combo of gruyere and jalepeños at all! The Anaheims had better flavor and better paired up with cheddar. I realize the difference in cheese and addition of peppers sets this apart from traditional, but having made it 2 times so close together (2days apart), I feel confident with my conclusion. I love the ingredients and thought this was going to be fabulous; unfortunately, as presented here, I was disappointed. We all have different tastes and this wasn't horrible. I mean no offense to the original poster if the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is awesome!! I used only 2 jalpenos and the flavor was great but not too hot! I made this for a pot luck and everyone wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
This was so delicious!! we doubled the recipe and left out the paprika(we were out).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
Not bad, but I'm thinking this could benefit by adding more cheese (or less cream). Also, our heat tolerance level being "Coward," I backed off on the jalapeno quite a bit and added finely chopped mixed color bell peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I used goat cheese instead of gruyere because it's what I had on hand and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
excellent enjoyed by entire family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
I don't know what happened but this turned out not to my liking. I followed the instructions to a T and it was a complete fail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kendall Park, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Belford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
LOVE this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklinville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Millersville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I doubled this recipe and it ended up with too much liquid. I also ended up doubling the cook time and the potatoes were still not as done as I would have liked. The flavor was delicious and I will try again but either make the smaller portion or cut the liquid and plan on cooking at a little higher heat and for longer than recipe calls for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States