Potato and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
This is SOOOO good!!!! Easy too. I can't say more positive things about it! Made it pretty much exactly as it says and it was delish!! Kids loved it. I loved it. I didn't have the whole amount of potatos called for but I had a lot of ham and it was no big deal. I WILL be making this again. Yummm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ashland, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
Making this soup again, I have never changed the recipe. Its great just as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Yummy! Very easy and favorable . Used the crockpot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryannd
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
My husband is not the cook in the family, but coming home to him making this recipe was surprising. He followed the recipe to letter and even had our 6 year old help make it and the end result was AMAZING. I would recommend this to anyone who loves fresh veggies in a cream sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
Easy! Boiled ham bone from spiral-sliced ham until the meat fell off, used that stock & cleaned up/diced the ham from the bone. Used just 1 can cream of celery soup (due to salt from ham), 1 cup of milk (thickened with corn starch), left out the celery, added a pinch of garlic powder, added potato flakes for more thickening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
This came out creamy and wonderful. I substituted some Kirkland No Salt seasoning for the salt to keep the sodium down. I also added 1/2 cup of chopped carrots that we had in the refrigerator and a little extra water to compensate for the extra volume. It is a recipe that one can scale up or down depending on what extra ingredients you add. The kids loved it and asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Hi there fellow soupers!! I loved this recipe and changed it just a bit. I used a sprial cut ham bone that I had in the freezer and boiled it in 1 1/2 cups of water, just long enough for the meat to separate from the bone. I strained the tid bits from the stock and used the ham water to create my soup. I also used cream of mushroom soup because that is what I had! I reduced the amount of heavy cream to one cup and used 2% milk for the 2nd cup. No salt was necessary to flavor this soup, just lots of freshly cracked pepper when served. This is a 5 star recipe! Easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
I made this tonight for my family and they loved it. I also did change the recipe just a little. I added 3 cups water to stop it from being to runny. I put one can of cream of potato and one can of cream of celery. I diced up 3 1/2 cups of ham. Best idea ever. Added salt pepper and lawrys. I also uses half and half 1 cup instead of heavy cream. Also did make crescent rolls like another person had suggested. Hope this helps everybody :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
excellent soup..just made it this morning..little touch of garlic did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Sorry, but no one in the family liked this. It was way too watery-we had to keep adding ingredients to recipe in order to kind of like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States