Potato and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I also want to add that in the original directions I put to add enough water to cover the veg, but they put in 4 cups. You might need a little more than that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tabitha King

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
After experimenting, I use 1/2 tsp dried tarragon, 4 tsp chicken base in the water, and no cream of celery soup. Instead I melt 1/4 cup of butter and add 1/2 cup flour. Stir over low heat for a few minutes then add to soup with one can of evaporated milk. Skip the cream. Also, your veggies will taste better if you sweat them out in a tbsp of butter before you add the broth. Only about 5-7 minutes on med low heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by skeller311

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2009
My family loved this recipe -and since my Mother-in-law's recipe is considered the be all and end all of potato soup, this was no easy feat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jai

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greenville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2010
This was very good soup. We liked this a lot and will definitely be making it again but with a few changes for our own taste. I did change 2 things this first time. I only had one can of cream of celery soup so that was all I used. I actually am glad that was all I had because I felt, to my taste, that the cream of celery was overwhelming for a potato soup. Then I used Half & Half instead of all heavy cream (which I would again). I think next time I will use either just cream of potato soup or maybe one of each (potato and celery). I will definetly be making this a lot as it is a good base but just with my own personal tweaking. Thanks for sharing Tabitha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. Once the vegetables were cooked, I threw in some leftover cooked broccoli that I had in the fridge. I also used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream since that is all I had on hand. I will definitely use this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I can't tell you strongly enough how much my husband loved this recipe! (As did I!) Plus, one of the guys I work with claimed that I was the best soup maker ever because he loved this soup!! Thank you for sharing this delicious recipe - you make me look good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
Delicious and super easy. Prep didn't even take too long. I took the advice of some and replaced cream of celery/heavy cream with evap. milk and butter/flour mixture. Added thyme, bay leaves, a bit of rosemary and tarragon, which added flavor and removed the need for excessive salt. I also sweated the veggies before adding the liquid. This helped raised the flavor profile of the mirepoix. This should really be called a chowder since that's what it tastes and looks like, but whatever. I plan to add mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
I used cream of chicken soup instead of celery and 1/2 & 1/2 with cornstarch instead of heavy cream. I also added some boullion because the flavor was a little bland. It was good, but nothing terribly special! I like a different ham and potato soup on here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This recipe was so easy and delish! I only added one can of the cream of celery and it was so, so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rezgrl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
We fixed this tonight. It was fast and easy and very delicious. I added light sour cream and 2% cheddar cheese blend after preparing. We also added a little cayenne pepper for some spice. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penny and Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States