Potato and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Yummy! This is such an easy, inexpensive, and tasty recipe. I added some sliced kielbasa but don't think it was necessary. I also sprinkled the top layer with parsley for color and pepper. I really liked the seasoning salt flavor! The method for cooking the potatoes seems strangely complicated. I just poked the potatoes with a fork, microwaved them for 15-20 minutes and then sliced them. Leavin the skin on is not only easier, but retains the vitamins in the skins. I used low fat sour cream and margarine and next time might try to sub chicken broth for half the margarine and use fat free sour cream. Thanks for the delicious recipe! *Update* I've made this many times since, I make the sauce with pureed cottage cheese instead of sour cream (add 2 t lemon juice), 3/4 cup chicken broth and 1/4 cup light margarine. A bit healthier and still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
I am Hungarian and have been making this recpie for years. It is fast and easy. They way I make it is that I add sausage(any kind, but preferably Hungarian sausage) and layer potatoes, eggs, sausage, sour cream and repeat. Incredibly delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
One of my favorite childhood hungarian dishes my parents used to make, and in turn I make often now! This is very close to the way we make it except I do: three layers of potatoes and two layers of eggs and then spoon the sour cream mixture over each egg layer. I cover the top potatoes with some reserved sour cream mixture and sprinkle with fine, dry buttered crumbs! Yummy. On occassion I put in some sliced sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is the first dish I ever made as a child growing up in Hungary. I also use kielbasa in the layers. I lightly salt each potato layer and then drizzle it with some of the butter and sourcream mixture. Then pour the left over sauce on top. This year it will be part of our Christmas morning breakfast. I'll prep the night before and bake while we're opening presents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zsuzsa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tiszaujvaros, Borsod-Abaúj-Zemplén, Hungary
Living In: Chagrin Falls, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Pretty good. It was a big hit at the potluck. I added red onion and worchester sauce for a kick. *Be sure and melt the sour cream with the butter. If you just add melted butter to the s. cream you'll get a very puffy topping that wont sink down into the dish much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Same Hungarian recipe my family uses, except, you have to use BUTTER.... try adding ham or Kolbas (Hungarian Sausage). It was always an Easter dish growning up, but now its a staple..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALESIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I don't know about this being a lenten recipe--we made it for Fat Tuesday and because I used butter instead of margarine it came out really rich and good. I liked it, but it's not the kind of thing you can make every day. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Our family dinners were not complete without this. Though we did it with a couple of variations. Butter instead of margarine. Always start and end with potatoes. And on top of egg layer and final potato layer place 5 or 6 pats of butter instead of adding to sour cream, Use salt and lemon pepper and garlic salt on top of eggs and final layer of potatoes. Usually do two layers of eggs and three of potatoes. After layering is complete add condensed milk to sour cream until it is pourable, pour over casserole and bake at 350 until it is bubbling. Potatoes were cooked until a fork insterted could go all the way into the middle. Anyone who had tasted it loves it! Hopefully this is not a double post, I messed up the first time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was my Mom's staple dish when I was growing up. It's super easy to make and you don't need any fancy ingredients. She used to make it with Hungarian sausage added in between the layers of potatoes, eggs, and sour cream. Where I live now it's hard for me to find Hungarian sausage and I use regular polish or other spicy or cajun sausage to substitute or just leave it out like in this recipe. It still works and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Delicious! The eggs and sour cream go great with the potatoes. Approved by my very picky dh. He said it exceeded his expectations! I added a little pepper. Next time I will try sauted onion in butter. Thanks for a great dish Connie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States