Potato and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
As a child growing up, I often ate over at my friend Sheila's for dinner. This was my favorite dish. I remember it with sausauge, but as a vegetarian, this did the trick. Thanks Connie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I used an egg slicer to slice the eggs and the potatoes, I also added polish sausage, next time I will try the ham. We believe that you need a meat with dinner. This is a super great recipe. Every one loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I was disappointed by this. I felt like the ratio of eggs to potatoes was way too low. I ended up only using half of the potatoes called for because they didn't all fit in the baking pan. The sauce was okay but in general I felt this dish was way too rich. And I'd suggest slicing the potatoes ahead of time and then cooking because slicing them when they're already cooked was more difficult and messy and they ended up not being tender enough after baking. Too much work for not an incredibly tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I don't usually like to change the recipes much, but I only used 1/3 cup margarine and added about 1/4 cup milk to thin the sauce a little. I also didn't use the egg yolks. My husband is on a heart healthy diet. I used a suggestion on this site and added some turkey bacon to a center layer. It turned out pretty well, but next time I may put some of the sauce into a center layer so it incorporates through the dish better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNSTODD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Our family enjoyed it!!! I've made this dish on various occasions and always get compliments on it. I also use fat free sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I added some turkey bacon to it and some cheese since my boyfriend is one of those guys who thinks a dish is inedible if it doesnt have any meat. But it really tasted good. He ended up loving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
growing up, my family layed this with ham and made it a main meal! good with a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2004
Made as is, to give it a little more flavor added Vegeta gourmet seasoning & tarragon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
Delicious! The eggs and sour cream go great with the potatoes. Approved by my very picky dh. He said it exceeded his expectations! I added a little pepper. Next time I will try sauted onion in butter. Thanks for a great dish Connie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
i love this recipe! i used to live in hungary and this was one of my favorite dishes... and it's so simple. i use *way* less butter, though - only about 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States