Potato and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was my Mom's staple dish when I was growing up. It's super easy to make and you don't need any fancy ingredients. She used to make it with Hungarian sausage added in between the layers of potatoes, eggs, and sour cream. Where I live now it's hard for me to find Hungarian sausage and I use regular polish or other spicy or cajun sausage to substitute or just leave it out like in this recipe. It still works and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
My hungarian family makes this and it's yummy. There are a few things we do different is use real buter, we tried to use margarine and it just wasn't as good. Also we end with the eggs and sprinkle with paprika of course. No season salt in ours. Also try using heavy creme in place of sourcream. Both are yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trotwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
One of my favorite childhood hungarian dishes my parents used to make, and in turn I make often now! This is very close to the way we make it except I do: three layers of potatoes and two layers of eggs and then spoon the sour cream mixture over each egg layer. I cover the top potatoes with some reserved sour cream mixture and sprinkle with fine, dry buttered crumbs! Yummy. On occassion I put in some sliced sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
As a child growing up, I often ate over at my friend Sheila's for dinner. This was my favorite dish. I remember it with sausauge, but as a vegetarian, this did the trick. Thanks Connie!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2006
I used an egg slicer to slice the eggs and the potatoes, I also added polish sausage, next time I will try the ham. We believe that you need a meat with dinner. This is a super great recipe. Every one loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Homestead, Florida, USA
Living In: Wadsworth, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
I was disappointed by this. I felt like the ratio of eggs to potatoes was way too low. I ended up only using half of the potatoes called for because they didn't all fit in the baking pan. The sauce was okay but in general I felt this dish was way too rich. And I'd suggest slicing the potatoes ahead of time and then cooking because slicing them when they're already cooked was more difficult and messy and they ended up not being tender enough after baking. Too much work for not an incredibly tasty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
I don't usually like to change the recipes much, but I only used 1/3 cup margarine and added about 1/4 cup milk to thin the sauce a little. I also didn't use the egg yolks. My husband is on a heart healthy diet. I used a suggestion on this site and added some turkey bacon to a center layer. It turned out pretty well, but next time I may put some of the sauce into a center layer so it incorporates through the dish better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANNSTODD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bozeman, Montana, USA
Living In: Harker Heights, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Our family enjoyed it!!! I've made this dish on various occasions and always get compliments on it. I also use fat free sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I added some turkey bacon to it and some cheese since my boyfriend is one of those guys who thinks a dish is inedible if it doesnt have any meat. But it really tasted good. He ended up loving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2004
growing up, my family layed this with ham and made it a main meal! good with a salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States