Potato and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
ok as Always I started before I read the whole instructions.. so i will tell you the first time I didnt have sour cream so I used creamcheese added that to the butter and onions I sauteed chopped some tomato and used raw egg oh yeah I added swiss cheese to the layer... I Didnt mean to make a mess out of this recip"correct" way and it was YUMMY too.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Parrish-Becerra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This definitely has potential, but needs a little zip! Maybe some mustard?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I LOVE potatos! and I had a few eggs I needed to use, so I thought I would give this recipe a try. IT WAS SOO GOOD!! Next time I might add onion to the butter mixture but its not like it need it. Its really good just how the recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Great recipe! We couldn't believe there weren't more ingredients in it...tastes much more complex than it actually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Same Hungarian recipe my family uses, except, you have to use BUTTER.... try adding ham or Kolbas (Hungarian Sausage). It was always an Easter dish growning up, but now its a staple..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALESIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Yummy! This is such an easy, inexpensive, and tasty recipe. I added some sliced kielbasa but don't think it was necessary. I also sprinkled the top layer with parsley for color and pepper. I really liked the seasoning salt flavor! The method for cooking the potatoes seems strangely complicated. I just poked the potatoes with a fork, microwaved them for 15-20 minutes and then sliced them. Leavin the skin on is not only easier, but retains the vitamins in the skins. I used low fat sour cream and margarine and next time might try to sub chicken broth for half the margarine and use fat free sour cream. Thanks for the delicious recipe! *Update* I've made this many times since, I make the sauce with pureed cottage cheese instead of sour cream (add 2 t lemon juice), 3/4 cup chicken broth and 1/4 cup light margarine. A bit healthier and still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
87 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Rakot Krumpli - needs butter, butter, and more butter. Also being Hungarian and growing up with this very rich dish, we use butter not margarin. When layering this dish I also add the sausage and a few pats of butter on top of each potato layer so you really get the sauce throughout the casserole. Love it and agree with others that you can't make this very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Gate, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
This was my Mom's staple dish when I was growing up. It's super easy to make and you don't need any fancy ingredients. She used to make it with Hungarian sausage added in between the layers of potatoes, eggs, and sour cream. Where I live now it's hard for me to find Hungarian sausage and I use regular polish or other spicy or cajun sausage to substitute or just leave it out like in this recipe. It still works and my family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
My hungarian family makes this and it's yummy. There are a few things we do different is use real buter, we tried to use margarine and it just wasn't as good. Also we end with the eggs and sprinkle with paprika of course. No season salt in ours. Also try using heavy creme in place of sourcream. Both are yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Trotwood, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Madison, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
One of my favorite childhood hungarian dishes my parents used to make, and in turn I make often now! This is very close to the way we make it except I do: three layers of potatoes and two layers of eggs and then spoon the sour cream mixture over each egg layer. I cover the top potatoes with some reserved sour cream mixture and sprinkle with fine, dry buttered crumbs! Yummy. On occassion I put in some sliced sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States