Potato and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
Warm, tasty comfort food. Economical and filling. Perfect for a cold night's dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara p

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was one of the most bland and boring dishes I've ever had. I thought all the butter would make it tasty, I even added a few spices like garlic powder (just because I love garlic), but this dish just left me feeling un-fed and unimpressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Altadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This recipe was very good! I halved the recipe and made it in a deep dish pie baker, cause this makes way too much for just hubby and me! I added some sliced kielbasa, but think it would be much better with added onions or onion powder, pepper and maybe some sort of shredded cheese. I will probably make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
Way too much butter and sour cream. Just not the kind of recipe that people I know eat in this health conscience part of the world.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
We've made this several times now and it's very tasty! We always leave out the butter (and it's not missed.) It definitely turned out better when we used a sausage which purged its fat so that it mixed nicely with the sour cream on the bottom of the bowl. Additionally, my Hungarian boyfriend seems to think it's VERY IMPORTANT that egg slices are covered with potato, otherwise they may become hard while they're in the oven. Who am I to argue? :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brooke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingwood, Texas, USA
Living In: Budapest, Pest, Hungary
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
This is well worth the time it takes to prepare. I used redskins I had cooked the previous night, but any potatos will do. I also added onion and shredded cheddar cheese. I didn't have any breakfast meats in the house, so I added bacon bits. This casserole is rich, but oh so yummy. Try adding your own ingredients to make it your own unique casserole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
This looks very much like something my mom used to make for dad about 40 years ago.. except she put buttery toasted bread bites on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TerriSteelMagnolia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I agree, the potatoes were way too hard. Next time, I will boil them until pretty soft first. I loved the flavor and the combination though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This needed a little more for me, bacon, cheese and onions would be a nice touch. Also, my potatoes had a hard time getting soft enough, maybe I did not boil them long enough?!?! My husband loved it though, hard potatoes and all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This is really good. I use Season All for the salt between layers. Also, I don't even use close to all the butter (about 1/8-1/4) because it is just way too much. I have use yogurt cheese instead of real sour cream and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Boulder, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States