Potato and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I am Hungarian and I also make this although with less potatoes and I use butter (and much less than a cup) with the sour cream. Occasionally I also sprinkle some paprika on it as well. It's a great way to use up leftover baked potatoes. It's also great if you add sliced smoked sausage or even hot dogs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This was really good. Easy to make, hard to screw up! I fed it Christmas morning and everyone loved it. Delicious topping, soooo creamy. I had to cook mine a little longer because the pototoes were still a little hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2010
I haven't had this for 20 years - I made the lazy quick bersion . I opened a can of sliced new potatos and layers with eggs I sliced on the egg slicer. I melted the butter in microwave, added and whipped in sour cream then returned to microwave with a handful of diced onions to add a bit of flavor. Some cracked peper on top and I got to have grandmom's cooking in a short time. I forgot to mention I made the 3/2 layer in a loaf pan and cut the recipe in half and it was nice. I had some as soon as half hour had passed but grandmom let it set for a while so will have more in a bit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
The flavor was great but there was too much butter/margarine and the potatoes were still hard. I would reduce the margarine (I used butter) and cook the potatoes for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Good traditional hungarian flavor- would've done 5 stars but the sauce separates during baking (even when I used less butter). Next time I'll try some cornstarch & beat an egg in with the sauce... I diced a polish dog in for extra flavor. yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Our family dinners were not complete without this. Though we did it with a couple of variations. Butter instead of margarine. Always start and end with potatoes. And on top of egg layer and final potato layer place 5 or 6 pats of butter instead of adding to sour cream, Use salt and lemon pepper and garlic salt on top of eggs and final layer of potatoes. Usually do two layers of eggs and three of potatoes. After layering is complete add condensed milk to sour cream until it is pourable, pour over casserole and bake at 350 until it is bubbling. Potatoes were cooked until a fork insterted could go all the way into the middle. Anyone who had tasted it loves it! Hopefully this is not a double post, I messed up the first time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Surprisingly better tasting than I expected. I put a little grated cojack cheese on top near the end of baking. Also used much less butter. I might make it again, but there are much better breakfast casseroles. I was looking for something for a friend who is on a soft food meatless diet. This fit the bill for her purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
My family really enjoyed this comforting casserole. I used butter instead of margarine and the sauce was so deliciously smooth and creamy!! I served it as a meatless main dish and no one complained, acutually they said this ones a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I modified it a bit...I added bacon slices and cheddar cheese...It was excellant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Jean Lakeman Innes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This is a great casserole side dish. I used the buttery yukon gold potatoes and didn't peel them as I happen to like the skins. The next time I will slice the potatoes very thin to make them as "soft" as possible without being mashed. I'm also wondering if browning some ground beef and adding that in before baking would make a main dish casserole. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States