Potato and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
I loved the taste, so did the family (except for the 11 year old).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKBRECK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2007
I lived in Hungary and I loved this dish. I believe it is called Rakott Krumpli (stacked potato).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Pretty good. It was a big hit at the potluck. I added red onion and worchester sauce for a kick. *Be sure and melt the sour cream with the butter. If you just add melted butter to the s. cream you'll get a very puffy topping that wont sink down into the dish much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2007
I'm Hungarian and am always looking for ethnic dishes. I made this as a side for Easter and it was a big hit. I am going to make this again but will add bacon or ham and serve as a breakfast dish for brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2007
ok as Always I started before I read the whole instructions.. so i will tell you the first time I didnt have sour cream so I used creamcheese added that to the butter and onions I sauteed chopped some tomato and used raw egg oh yeah I added swiss cheese to the layer... I Didnt mean to make a mess out of this recip"correct" way and it was YUMMY too.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Parrish-Becerra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Margate, Florida, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
This definitely has potential, but needs a little zip! Maybe some mustard?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
I LOVE potatos! and I had a few eggs I needed to use, so I thought I would give this recipe a try. IT WAS SOO GOOD!! Next time I might add onion to the butter mixture but its not like it need it. Its really good just how the recipe is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
Great recipe! We couldn't believe there weren't more ingredients in it...tastes much more complex than it actually is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
Same Hungarian recipe my family uses, except, you have to use BUTTER.... try adding ham or Kolbas (Hungarian Sausage). It was always an Easter dish growning up, but now its a staple..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALESIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lackawanna, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
Yummy! This is such an easy, inexpensive, and tasty recipe. I added some sliced kielbasa but don't think it was necessary. I also sprinkled the top layer with parsley for color and pepper. I really liked the seasoning salt flavor! The method for cooking the potatoes seems strangely complicated. I just poked the potatoes with a fork, microwaved them for 15-20 minutes and then sliced them. Leavin the skin on is not only easier, but retains the vitamins in the skins. I used low fat sour cream and margarine and next time might try to sub chicken broth for half the margarine and use fat free sour cream. Thanks for the delicious recipe! *Update* I've made this many times since, I make the sauce with pureed cottage cheese instead of sour cream (add 2 t lemon juice), 3/4 cup chicken broth and 1/4 cup light margarine. A bit healthier and still delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Eggs Benedict Casserole

Baked breakfast casserole with English muffins and Canadian bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States