Potato and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
The flavor was great but there was too much butter/margarine and the potatoes were still hard. I would reduce the margarine (I used butter) and cook the potatoes for longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Good traditional hungarian flavor- would've done 5 stars but the sauce separates during baking (even when I used less butter). Next time I'll try some cornstarch & beat an egg in with the sauce... I diced a polish dog in for extra flavor. yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Our family dinners were not complete without this. Though we did it with a couple of variations. Butter instead of margarine. Always start and end with potatoes. And on top of egg layer and final potato layer place 5 or 6 pats of butter instead of adding to sour cream, Use salt and lemon pepper and garlic salt on top of eggs and final layer of potatoes. Usually do two layers of eggs and three of potatoes. After layering is complete add condensed milk to sour cream until it is pourable, pour over casserole and bake at 350 until it is bubbling. Potatoes were cooked until a fork insterted could go all the way into the middle. Anyone who had tasted it loves it! Hopefully this is not a double post, I messed up the first time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
Surprisingly better tasting than I expected. I put a little grated cojack cheese on top near the end of baking. Also used much less butter. I might make it again, but there are much better breakfast casseroles. I was looking for something for a friend who is on a soft food meatless diet. This fit the bill for her purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy K

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
My family really enjoyed this comforting casserole. I used butter instead of margarine and the sauce was so deliciously smooth and creamy!! I served it as a meatless main dish and no one complained, acutually they said this ones a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I modified it a bit...I added bacon slices and cheddar cheese...It was excellant
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Jean Lakeman Innes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Rocky Mountain House, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
This is a great casserole side dish. I used the buttery yukon gold potatoes and didn't peel them as I happen to like the skins. The next time I will slice the potatoes very thin to make them as "soft" as possible without being mashed. I'm also wondering if browning some ground beef and adding that in before baking would make a main dish casserole. I'll definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
This was horrible! My own fault, because I should have known potatoes and eggs with sour cream poured on top can not be good, but I did not expect flavors to not go at all and the runny appearance. Nobody touched it! What a waste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This recipe is pretty time consuming, so I don't know how often I'll actually make it in the future. I followed the directions for the most part & boiled the potatoes a little longer (about 22 minutes) as other reviewers had suggested. But my husband still thought they were a wee bit hard, (I thought they were fine.) I also cut the margarine to 1/2 cup as well. I added a little bacon to make it more of a main course meal, but my hubby thought it was more of a breakfast dish. It was good, I liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janalynn505

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
This is quite good though really heavy (obviously, smile). I actually prefer it at room temperature because then I can taste the tanginess of the sour cream more. Since I am veggie I did not try it with kielbasa, but some kind of spicy soy meat might spice it up a bit...I did add freshly ground pepper to the top which helped, but even more kick might be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Hash Brown and Egg Casserole

This hearty casserole is meaty, cheesy, and so delicious.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States