Potato and Egg Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I thought it was great however... I added 2 t worchestershire sauce, 1 t mustard, 8 oz diced ham, a handful of chopped onions and a sprinkle of cheese. I thought it needed the extra oomph of flavor. My one question is: How does everyone else keep the sauce from separating after you put it in the oven? I melted the butter and added the sour cream to it off the heat. But once I cooked it for 30 minutes at 350, it was floating in butter. Still tasted great but it was NOT an attractive dish. My DH said this was his new favorite breakfast dish so I'll absolutely make it again, but I'd sure like to find out how to keep it looking creamy and delish, not oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
This recipe sounded good for my son's girlfriend. She is vegetarian and was coming for Thanksgiving. With the eggs being the protein since she didn't eat the turkey. It was a great hit and she took the recipe home and its a family tradition of both her family and ours now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
I remember my mom made this a couple times when I was younger I can't recall if she used sausage or not but regardless it is good I'll definitely try this again with some sausage :) thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARYB325

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
This is a staple in our house. I will admit I was skeptical at first, but made this on a day with no other options. Promptly made it again the following week. We add Kielbasa sausage sliced in the layers, loosely follow the recipe depending on your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
We thought this was a very tasty side dish, easily capable of becoming a main dish with the addition of meat. I scaled down this recipe by two-thirds for just the two of us, and we still have some left over. Even though it's rich, you don't eat that much of it! I was surprised at the few ingredients that led up to such a tasty dish! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Unbelievably WONDERFUL, easy to make Lent 2/22/13 All 3 liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
It tastes good but it came out really dry. I followed the instructions exactly but it seems as though it needs double the butter/sour cream mixture. Not sure what happened?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Very good dish! I'm not very familiar with Hungarian meals, but this was quite good. For my personal taste, it was a bit heavy on the butter side, but good nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
Awesome! Just the way my MIL makes it. I'm so happy I found this recipe. I made it last night and I have over half left. Turned out awesome. Takes very long to make but worth it. I did the recipe exact but peeled and slice the potatoes b4 hand and added them to the water b4 it boiled so they weren't hard. Also, added small pieces of cooked polish sausage to it. I think my MIL always added Hungarian sausage. Love! My husband said it tasted just like his mom's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2011
Quick and easy and a yummy comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States