Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
These are amazing little tasty bites. and so easy to put together. Just the right size for an appy, brunch or cocktail party. I did use the Manchego cheese, which is a little pricey but well worth it. I am sure another semi-dry cheese would work just as well though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
I bought Mexican Chorizo and it did not look like the chorizo in the video -- it was soft and in a plastic casing that had to be removed. Therefore, I cooked it in a pan with the potatoes and didn't need to use any olive oil. I also didn't have the tiny muffin tins so I used regular sized ones. And, I didn't have the right cheese -- I only had farmer's cheese oacked in brine. Since the cheese was in brine, I didn't use any salt and since the chorizo was really hot, I didn't add any cayenne pepper. It turned out fabulously and I increased the cooking time to 20 minutes to allow for the larger muffin tins. For garnish, I mixed avocado, tomatoes, garlic, lemon juice, green onion and salt together and served it with sour cream as well. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Disappointing. I followed the recipe using soy chorizo (shame on me, but that's what the snooty upscale grocery store with initials WF carried). I wasn't very competent on doing the ol' shake-a-shake-a (see video) and had egg flowing over the muffin cups. I result rated "their ok" by the family. Maybe real meat gets different results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ad-lib Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I'm giving it 4 because the ingredients are a bit hard to find. That doesn't mean it's not good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I think I would just prefer it as a scramble. It would be easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTCHYG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montrose, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
These mini quiches were adorable and delicious! I used 1 regular sized muffin tin and baked for about 20 minutes, but my oven runs hot. I used 9 eggs and probably could have done with one more, or could have added a little milk to the eggs. I will add this recipe to my list of things to serve for brunch when hosting! The video is helpful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
These were delicious, flew off the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
I made this one. I did add to it which was diced onion and green onion to the chorizo. They were beautiful. One of the easiest things to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I'm giving this recipe 5 stars for several reasons. One was because it was very easy to make. I had some vegetarian chorizo in the freezer, not completely knowing what I was going to make, then I saw this recipe and thought it would make a wonderful brunch dish along with a French toast bake from this site also. I opted to use regular size cupcake pan for more of a meal. But the appetizer size would be the perfect party treat. The only ingredient I added was a little chopped onion, cooked with the chorizo and a meal we had. This recipe is extremely versatile, which added to it appeal. Try and stay close to baking times. Eggs have a tendency to dry out and become tough when over cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Mine stuck to the pan :( maybe because I used olive oil pan spray. I will try again using baking/cooking spray. Will also only add cheese to the top and add some green onions inside the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jillypoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Red Pepper Scallops on Potato Pancakes

Turn scallops and leftover potatoes into an easy, impressive meal.

Smoked Sausage with Potatoes & Sauerkraut

See how to put a modern smoked sausage twist on a classic German dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States